Thursday, 17 December 2009

The "Detsom" Manor and Estate Records


(click on the map to enlarge)
The Original estate was very large indeed, stretching from Rowhook to Billingshurst, in a long narrow strip of continuous land along the western side of the A29, together with a few pockets of estate holdings both further west, and to the east of the main road, within the Rudgwick, Slinfold, and Billingshurst parishes. (see accompanying plan)

One of our members, Diana Chatwin, has spent several years putting together manorial records of property holdings for the ancient estate, some of which I publish herewith, and to whose dedicated commitment to such research I pay tribute.

It has to be remembered that this estate, for many centuries, was a sub-Manor of Goring, part of the Tregoz estates, and the earliest record found thus far is 1071, when Roger de Monte Gomerie earl of Arundel was seized of 6 Knights Fees, lately of Hugh Bigot’s, in Goring, Haydon, Beaucy and Dadesham.

The overlordship (tenancy-in-chief) of Goring Manor belonged to the lords of Arundel rape (the Montgomery earls of Shrewsbury, then the Aubignys) but then passed after the death of the last male Aubigny to the Mold (Mohaut, Maude) family, before reverting to the Crown in 1327. It was regarded as attached to the Crown honor of Wallingford as late as the 1620s.

The Tregoz family probably came in as Aubigny tenants in the early 12th C (certainly not as early as before 1071) but aren't documented at Goring until the end of the century. They were lords of Goring until 1404, then their kinsmen the Lewknors until 1542 or later, after which Goring and Dedisham, it seems, parted company.

Many of the manorial records are held at county and local record offices, although many are still in private hands; other good collections are held at the Public Record Office and British Library. Anyone interested further may consult a location index at the Historical Manuscripts Commission called the Manorial Documents Register which lists all known holdings; since 1926 it has been necessary to report any change of ownership of manorial records to the Master of the Rolls, a law not always complied with. The HMC is in the throes of putting on the web details of manorial records for the entire U.K., and has, thus far, put up records appertaining to Wales, Isle of Wight, Yorkshire, Middlesex and Surrey. See their web sire http://www.hmc.gov.uk/.

The principal manorial records usually available are minutes of the Court Leet and Court Baron, the first dealing with petty crimes and manorial appointments, the second with land transfer. The two courts were sometimes held at one sitting and are noted in the same document. Originally in rolls, later in volumes, the records, with the exception of the Commonwealth period, were in Latin until 1734.

Separate from these are rentals, and also a customal which recites the customs, rights and obligations of the manor. The lord may also have a plan and terrier of his demesne lands.

Inevitably such records are spread over a wide field – the local and county records offices, solicitors’ offices, family libraries etc. The archives include plans, terriers, rentals, valuations, leases.

Some of the larger estates have their own archive offices or else have deposited them with others. The principal ones are:

General "Detsom" estate records, Court Baron, Court Leet, and Customals etc: Duke of Norfolk. Arundel Castle, Arundel, West Sussex.

Onslow Family records: Surrey History Centre 130 Goldsworth Road, Woking, GU21 6ND. Tel.: 01483 518 737.

Blount Records, Tithe Maps & other records: West Sussex Records Office, Sherburne House. 3 Orchard Street, Chichester, PO19 1RN. Tel.: 01243 753600.


THE ORIGINAL "DETSOM" LANDS

BAKERS LAND (Holmann in Slinfold and Bakers in Billingshurst)


Copyhold - - yearly rent 4d. (This is probably Bakers Field. the northernmost field of Holmans, in Slinfold and Billingshurst. Holmans is part of the Manor of Wiggenholt in later records.)


1548 Robert Wilson licence to let tenement and land called Holmans and Bakers.
(Arundel HC 103)

1552 Robert Willson, who held a tenement and customary land, has died. Agnes Willson, widow, holds for her life by copy of 20th Dec. 1546. (Arundel HC 104)

1563 John Gyfford, gent, copvhold, rent 10s. (Rental, Arundel HC 125)

1576 Agnes Gyforde (Byforde), wife of John Gvforde. who held for their lives by copy of court roll dated 20th Dec. 1546 a tenement called Holmans and Bakers, has died. Thomas Winston asked to be admitted for the term of his life. (Arundel HC 106)

1578 Thomas Winston surrendered messuge and lands called Holmans in Slinfold and Bakers in Billingshurst. John Penfold admitted for life. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)

1618 John Penfold surrendered to Richard Penfold, his son. Richard admitted for life. (WSRG Add MS 49.844)

1622 Licence to John (sic) Penfold to let for 5 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)

1635 Richard Penfold surrendered to Thomas Penfold, brother, for life. WSRO Add MS 49. 8 44)

post 1651 Mr. Stvdolph for Bakers Land. (Rental, Arundel HC 126)

1678 Order that John Penfold shall do fealty for Holmans. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)

1678 The heir of Sir Richard Stidolph Knight, in occupation of Thomas Lucy. (Rental, Arundel HC 125)

1695 The heirs of Sir Richard Stidolph Knight for messuage and 2 acres, in occupation of Thomas Lucy. (Rental, Arundel HC 120)

1700 The heirs of Richard Stidolph pay yearly for a rncssuage and about 2 acres of lands. (Rental. Arundel HC 121)


1750 Tenement and lands called Holmann in Slinfold aitd Bakers in Billingshurst. Tim Shelley, Eq. in occupation of? Woods, purchased of Mrs. Pettiss. (Arundel HC 117)



1803 Lost. (Rental, Arundel HC 120)





BAKERSHAW (in Rudgwick)



Copyhold. 4a -- yearly rent 3s.4d.



1548 Joan Ayloue, sister of William Knighte, who held from the king a cottage and certain land called Bakershawe has died. Thomas Knighte is heir. (Arundel HC 103)



1549 Thomas Knyght surrendered land called Bakershaw, formerly Richard Knyght. Thomas, Joan his wife, and Henry their son admitted. (Arundel HG 103)



1549 Thomas Knight licence to let cottage and land called 3a. (Arundel HC 103)



1563 Thomas Knight. rent 3s.4d, (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1588 Death of Thomas Knight. William Knight next heir. 3 acres. (WSRO Add MS

49,844)



1592 Homage present that John Knight is son and heir of Henry, about 12 years. Remains in hands of Lord until his age of 2l. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1602 John Knight admitted. Licence to let for 4 years. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1614 Thomas (sic) Knight licence to let for 2 years. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1617 Thomas Knight licence to let for 3 years. (WSRO Add MS 49844)



1620 Death of Thomas Knkht. Thomas son and heir, Mary, widow, to hold for her free bench, (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1622 Death of Marv Knight. Thomas Knight admitted, licence to let for 3 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1640 Thomas Knight surrendered to John Knight. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1644 John Knight surrendered to himself for life, remainder to John, son, 12 years. (\VSRO Add MS 49.844)



1644 Walter Knighte for Little Tiddlesfold. Bakershaw and part of Makfold land, (WSRO PAR/160/30/59)



1651 John Knight senior, and John Knight junior, surrendered and afterwards admitted at will of Lord. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)

post 1651 John Knight. (Rental, Arundel HG 126)1662 Death of John Knight, senior. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1678 Copy of Court Roll -- John Knight surrenders to Lord and is then re-admitted. (Original with King & Barnes)

1695 John Knight. (Rental, Arundel HC 120)



1707 Messuage, barn and customary land. John Knight has died, Solomon Knight is youmgest son. (Arundel HC 117)



1714 Solomon Knight. (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



1736 Solomon Knight surrenders to John Seaman the Elder of Rudgwick, carpenter, and Mary his wife. (Arundel HC 120)



1750 John Seaman, wife Mary dead. Thomas Seaman, youngest son. (Arundel HC 117)



1767 Death of Thomas Seaman. John Seaman, son, is 17 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1778 Widow Seman. (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



post 1788 John Seaman. (Rental, Arundel HC 120)



1803 John Seaman. (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1804 John Seaman conditional surrender to the use of Robert Jupp of Slinfold, yeoman (Arundel HC 120)



1812 Jolrn Seaman of Rudgwick, millwright, surrenders to John Poltock of Rudgwick, husbandman. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1840 Tithe Map - John Poltock owner and occupier.



1846 Conditional surrender John Poltock to Tanner, (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1847 John Poltock. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1853 I)eath of John Poltock. Louisa, wife of C. Miles, is heir. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1881 Charles Miles, (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1884 Indenture (in hands of King & Barnes) between Charles Miles formerly of Roundstone, Rudgwick, gent.. but now of the Horsham Workhouse, porter, and Mark John Simmonds of 132 York Road, Lambeth, Esq. ‘All that messuage garden and certain lands formerly called Bakershall. in the occupation of David Chuter, and now and for several years past known as the “Blue Ship” being copyhold of the manor of Dedisham’.





Berry Lands (Le Burye in Rudgwick)



Copyhold, 100 a -- Yearly rent £2



1547 John Lewer to let to Emery Lewer his son, and Richard Lewer his son, tenement and land for 7 years. (Arundel HC103)



1548 Emery Lewer surrenders tenement and land called the Bury. Emery Lewer and son Thomas admitted. (Arundel HC 103)



1552 John Ewen of Sutton. Sussex. gent. with 5 members of his family, came to the house of Emery Lewer in Dedysham on 26th July 1552 at 6 o’clock in the evening and took by force a sparrowhawk that the said Emery was keeping for Robster, gent. Fine 3s 4d. (Arundel HC 104)



1552 Joan Lewer. widow, who held land called Le Bury during the natural life of the said Joan, has passed land to her sons Emery and Richard Lewer, annual rent £5. But she keeps for herself the right to pasture one cow, one pig and her fowl, and also the profits of one apple tree, and also one chamber, as long as she remains a widow. (Arundel HC 104)



1563 Emery Lewer for The Burye (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1574 Emery Lewer swore on oath that he holds at will a tenement and lands called Le Burye, rent 40s. He was admitted immediately following the death of Joan Lewer, his mother, which was about the first year of the current reign (1558). (Arundel HC 106)



1581 Death of Emery Lewer. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1587 Several copyholders declare that they do not know of Emery Lewer and Thomas Lewer being admitted. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1591 Thomas Lewer had cut several saplings and tellows contrary to the custom of the manor. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1600 Lord granted to Thomas Lewer and his heirs by copy- the tenement and lands which he had enjoyed a great many years without admission. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1609 Thomas Lewer died, Richard son and heir. Elizabeth, widow to hold for her free bench. Licence to let for 5 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1614 Elizabeth Lewer surrendered and Richard Lewer admitted. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1621 Richard Lewer, conditional surrender to John Weekes and Henry Hamond. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1622 Richard Lewer surrendered to Thomas Vincent. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1644 Licence to Thomas Vincent to let for 20 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1644 Thomas Worsfold for berry land. (WSRO PAR/160/30/59)



1647 Homage presented that Thomas Vincent let to John Constable without licence, who cut and hewed 500 Cords of Wood and more whereof he converted 50 in Coales and the rest of the wood he carried of the premisses to his owne use against the custom of the manor wherefore the said Thomas forfeited the premises. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1648 Death of Thomas Vincent, Thomas, son and heir, is 6 years. Agnes, widow, held by bench, but surrendered to Thomas the son and heirs. Thomas the son admitted and custody given to mother, l00a. (WSRO Add MS 49844)



1662 Death of Thomas Vincent, Ann Jeffery, 12 years, is next heir. Custody to Agnes Bartling, wife of Stephen Bartling. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



post 1651 Anne Jeffry (Rental, Arundel HC 126)



1678 Death of Anne Jeffery als Cotchett, late wife of Thomas Cotchett, Esq.. Thomas Cotchett. Junior, 1 year, is youngest son and heir. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1678 Heirs of Anne Jefferyes als Scotchett (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1695 Heirs of Anne Jefferyes als Cotchett (Rental, Arundel HC 120)



1700 Mr. Thomas Cotchet (Rental, Arundel HC l21)



1701 Thomas Cotchett of London. Silkman. surrenders to William Churchman of Slinfold, yeoman for £690. (Arundel HC 121)



1701 Sir Richard Onslow for £450 granted to William Churchman all timber trees and other trees, woods and underwoods on Berry Farm. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1742 William Churchman dead. John only son and heir, (Arundel HC 121) Under will John the son to hold only until William, grandson, attains 24 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1747 Licence to Join Churchman to let for 12 years. (WSRQ Add MS 49,844)



1762 William Churchman, the grandson, attained 24 years and admitted. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1778 William Churchman (Quitrent. Arundel HC 120)



pre 1789 William Churchman (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1789 Death of William Churchman, John Churchman, 19 years, only son and heir.

Custody to William King. John Churchman surrendered to use of his will. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



post 1789 JoIn Churchman (Rental, Arundel HC 120)



1803 John Churchman (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1818 John Churchman of Ewhurst, Gent., dead. Edward Churchman son, admitted, (WSRD Add MS 18.706)



1840 Tithe Map - - Edward Churchman owner and occupier.



1845 Edward Churchman surrendered part of tenement Smithers, 4a 0r 4p, to John Napper. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1847 Edward Churchman - messuage and lands - rent £1 17s 0d.

John Napper, Esq. - 2 meadows - rent 3s. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1847 Edward Churchman surrendered to J. Mabanke, Esq. Admission by appointment of Mary Antrim Mabanke, his daughter. Smithers part of above. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1847 Mary Antrim Mabanke now wife of Dan Hanson, (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1881 Mary Antrim Close, wife of Dean Close -£1 17s 0d..

Devisees of William Wells -2 meadows - rent 3s. (WSRO Add MS 18.708)





Buckmotts Parcels - very confusing.

The Buckmotts lands are a very confusing conundrum consisting of a group of 5 parcels of land situated in the parishes of Slinfold and Billingshurst.

Viz:

1) Buckmotts in Slinfold - 10½ yardland, Mess, gdn & 25a - 6s. 8d.

2) Buckmotts or Nicholls in B’hurst - 4 crofts pt of Buckmotts, 6a -3s. 4d.

3) Buckmotts in Slinfold - -2 fields pt of Buckmotts, 12a - - 3s. 4d.

4) Buckmotts or Collyers in B’hurst - 30a customary land - 9s. 6d.

5) Browns als Buckmotts in Slinfold -Messuage and 6a. - - 1s. 0d.


The confusion arises from two copyhold tenants bearing the same name who held land of the Lord in the 14th century.


The 1321 Extent of Dedisham (SRS 60) gives:  John Bokemote son of Alice Bokemote holds 1 messuage and ½ virgate of land and owes for it yearly 6s at the 4 principal terms in equal parts.
Richard Bokemote holds 1 messuage and a quarter part of 1 virgate and owes for it yearly 4s 6d at the 4 principal terms by equal parts.

By the 16th/17th centuries, we have recorded:

1) Buckmotts in S. 1531 - - -- 2) Buckmotts or Nicholls in B 1630

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 3) Buckmotts in S. 1663

4) Buckmotts or Collyers in B 1524 - - - 5) Browns Croft in S 1620

And by 1840, we have:



1) Buckmotts - - - - - - - - - - - - - -William Walters - - - - - -TM 1839

2) Buckmotts or Nicholls - - -- - - - William Walters - - - - - -1835-47

3) Buckmotts (2 fields in S) - - - - - Execs of Sayers - - - - - -TM 1839

4) Buckmotts als Collyers - - - - - - Wm Walters/R.Issell - - -TM 1841

5) Browns als Buckmotts - - - - - - -William Walters - - - - - -1835-47


Now see the individual listings:

Browns (Alias Buckmots)

(Browns Crofts parcel of tent. c. Collyers als Buckmotts [in Slinfold])

(Coloured yellow on map - click on map to enlarge)

Mcssuage and lands, 6a

Copyhold - yearly rent 1s.

1620 Richard Harding admitted to parcel of Buckmotts or Collyers called Browns Crofts which Henry Wakeham had surrendered conditionally to him for £17. (WSRC Add MS 49.844)



1625 Richard Harding surrendered to use of Henry Wakeham. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1636 Henry Wakeham dead. Robert was son and heir. Margaret his widow to hold for her bench. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1643 Margaret Wakeharn dead. Robert, youngest son of Henry, admitted -- 19 years old. Custody granted to Thomas Penfold. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1656 Robert Wakeham surrendered and admitted to hold to him and Katherine his wife, etc. Paid £10, (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



post 1651 Katherin Wakeham -6 acres called Browncs. (Rental, Arundel HC 126)



1662 Robert Wakeham dead. Elizabeth is youngest daughter arid heir. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1678 Elizabeth Wakeham, youngest daughter and heir of Robert Wakeham, decd, held messuage and land called Browns als Buckmotts (1 messuage, 1 barn, 1 hay house -- this may refer in part to Buckmotts als Collyers). EW had surrendered to the use of her will, has died since last court, Left property to Daniel Ireland for his life and then to Elizabeth Herriott, his daughter. (Arundel HC 118)



1678 Daniel Ireland (Rental. Arundel HC 125)



1685 Death of Daniel Ireland. Elitabeth Herriott is 12 years (Mary, wife of Dan Herriot, is sister and heir to Elizabeth Wakeham). (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1685 Tenants ordered to view wastes committed on Wakeham’s lands. Tenants say no waste committed as appears to them on their view. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1686 A letter of Attorney with Court papers, the Lords to Richard Barnard to enter on copvhold lands and claim the same as forfeited for non payment of £30 fine and for waste committed. On the back of Court paper, Passion week given for the payment of Herriott’s fine. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1692 Elizabeth Heward. wife of Richard Heward (late called Elizabeth Herriott) admitted. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1695 DaiAel Ireland (Rental, Arundel HC 120)



1708 Richard Heaward and Elizabeth his wife surrender to Johm Pankhurst of Horsham. Apothecary. (Arundel HC 121) The same court licence given to John Pankhurst to let for 21 years. No fine as ex gratia. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1714 JoIn Pankhurst (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



1718 John Pankhurst is dead. Frances Pettes. daughter, is heir. (Arundel HC 121)



1737 Land Tax -- Walter Knight (PHA 906)



1742 Francis Pettis surrendered to the use of her will. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1750 Frances Pettis mortgaged copyhold messuage and lands to Joseph Melott of Muntham in Itchingfield, Esq. (Arundel HC 119)



1751 Licence to Francis Pettis to let for 21 years. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1752 Will of Frances Pittis, relict of Thomas, proved. Devised this and Buckmotts als Collyers to Elizabeth Andrew, faithfull servant. In occupation Walter Knight. (Arundel HC 119)

Susannah Revell is only surviving sister of John Pankhurst, Francis Pettis only held estate for her life, Therefore Susannah Revell is admitted. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1759 Susannah Revell died. John Revell, only son of John Revell. who was youngest son of Susannah. John Revell surrendered to Richard Charman, (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1762 Richard Charman of Billingshurst, yeoman, mortgaged this and Buckmotts als Collyers to John Palmer of Horsham, Gardener, (Arundel HC 119)



1778 Richard Charman -- rent l0s.6d. (inc. Collyers, rent 9s.6d.) (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1780 Land Tax -- owner: Mr. Charman, occupier: Thos. Jiner.



pre 1789 Richard Charman -- rent l0s.6d. (inc. Collvers. rent 9s.6d.) (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1789 Richard Charman died. Richard Charman. son and heir, surrendered to Adam Baker. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1789 Adam Baker admitted -- 16 acres. (WSRO Add MS l8.708)



1806 Enfranchisement of timber to Adam Baker. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1827 Adam Baker dead. Son and 2 daughters admitted who surrendered to James Walter. In occupation of Richard Puttock. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1831 Land Tax -- owner: J. Walter - - occupier: R. Puttock.



1835 John Walter dead. William Walter, brother, admitted. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1847 William Walter - - rnessuage and lands. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1881 William Walter (enfranchised). (WSRO Add MS 18,708)





Buckmotts or Collyers (in Billingshurst & Slinfold)

(coloured blue on map - click on map to enlarge)

Customary land - 30a

Copyhold -- yearly rent 9s.6d.



1554 Anna, formerly wife of Richard Hansson. who held of the lord a tenement and half virgate of land called Collyers als Bukmotts by copy, has died. William Wakeham received from the lord the tenement by copy of 9th July 1524 and is thus tenant of the premises. (Arundel HC 105)



1563 William Wakeham for Colyers and Buckmote, rent l0s 6d. (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1574 Robert Bayley and Joan his wife, and Edward Wacom came to court. Joan was examined alone and surrendered into the hands of the lord a tenement and half virgate called Collyers als Buckmotts to the use of the lord. Robert and Joan Baylye then admitted for lives. (Arundel HC 106)



1567 Robert Baylye (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1618 Henry Wakeham admitted (formerly Edward Wakeham’s, his grandfather). (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1620 Conditional surrender for £17 by Henry Wakeham of parcel of land called Brownes Crofts in Slinfold to Richard Harding. Harding admitted to this parcel in 1620, (WSRC Add MS 49,844)



1636 Death of Henry Wakeham, Robert son and heir. Margaret, widow, held by free bench, (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1645 Death of Margaret Wakeham, widow. Robert Wakeham. youngest son, is 19 years (custody to Thomas Penfold). Licence to let for 5 years. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1649 Licence to let for 7 years. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1651 Map of Mr. Nye’s land called Hays shows Wakham’s House.



1656 Robert Wakeham held at will. Surrendered and Robert and Katherine, wife, admitted at will. (WSRO Add MS 49844)



1662 Death of Robert Wakeham. Elizabeth Wakeham is youngest daughter and heir. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



post 1651 Katherin Wakeham -30 acres - in Billingshurst and Slinfold (Rental, Arundel HC 126)



1678 Elizabeth Wakeham, youngest daughter and heir of Robert Wakeham, deceased, held customary land called Buckmotts als Collyers. EW had surrendered to the use of her will, has died since last court. Left property to Daniel Ireland for his life, and then to Elizabeth Herriott. daughter of Daniel Herriott, and her heirs. (Arundel HC118)



1678 Daniel Ireland (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1685 Death of Daniel Ireland. Elizabeth Herriott is 12 years (Mary, wife of Dan Herriot, is sister and heir to Elizabeth Wakeham. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1685 Tenants ordered to view wasts committed on Wakeham’s lands. Tenants say no wast committed as appears to them on their view. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1685 Mary Herriott admitted. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1692 Elizabeth Herriott had married Richard Heward. She admitted, he did fealty. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1695 Richard Heyward in the right of his wife. (Rental, Arundel HC 120)



1708 Richard Heaward and Elizabeth his wife surrender to John Pankhurst of Horsham, Apothecary. (Arundel HC 121)



1708 John Pankhurst granted licence to let for 21 years. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1714 John Pankhurst (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1718 John Pankhurst dead. Frances Pettes. daughter, is heir. (Arundel HC 121)



1736 Frances Pettis. (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1750 Frances Pettis mortgaged land to Joseph Melott of Muntham. Esq. (Arundel HC 119)



1751 Licence to Frances Pettis to let for 21 years, (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1752 Will of Frances Pittis, relict of Thomas, proved. Devised land and Browns &

Buckmotts to Elizabeth Andrew,. faithfull servant. In occ. Walter Knight (Amndel HC 119).

Susannah Revcll is only surviving sister of John Pankhurst. Francis Pettis only held estate for her life. Therefore Susannah Revell is admitted. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1759 Susannah Revell died. John Revell, only son of John Revell, who was youngest son of Susannah. John Revell surrendered to Richard Charman. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1762 Richard Charman of Billingshurst, yeoman, mortgaged lands to John Palmer of Horsham. (Arundel HC 119)



1778 Richard Charman -- rent l0s. 6d. (inc. Browns at rent 1s.) (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



pre 1789 Richard Charman -- rent l0s.6d, (inc. Browns at rent 1s.) (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1789 Richard Charman died. Richard Charman, son and heir, surrendered to Adam Baker. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1789 Adam Baker admitted. 30 acres. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1806 Enfranchisement of timber to Adam Baker, (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1827 Adam Baker dead. Son and 2 daughters admitted who surrender to James Walter. In occupation of Richard Puttock. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1835 John Walter dead. William Walter, brother, admitted. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1847 William Walter - - lands. (WSRC Add MS 18,708)



1881 William Walter (enfranchised). (WSRO Add MS 18,708)





Buckmotts in Slinfold (NW)

(Coloured pink on map - click on map to enlarge)

2 fields parcel of Buckmotts, 12a

Copyhold - yearly rent 3s.4d



post 1651 Richard Nicholls for a house & 30 acres rent l0s. (inc. Buckmotts @ 6s.8d.) (Rental. Arundel HC 126)



1663 Richard Nicholls and his wife surrendered to James Puttock, sen. At same court James Puttock. Sen. surrendered to James Puttock. jun. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1678 James Puttock. 2 closes containing 12a. parcel of Buckmotts and formerly Nicholls In Slinfold. (Arundel HC 118)

James Puttock for copyhold parcell of Buckmotts apportioned with Nicholls - 3s.4d. (Rental, Arundel NC 125) - James Puttock surrendered and re-admitted to hold at will. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1695 James Puttock for copyhold parcel of Buckmotts apportioned with Nichols - 3s. 4d. (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1700 James Puttock for parcel of Buckmotts by apportionment. (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



1714 James Puttock (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1728 Elizabeth, widow of James Puttock, dead. Son James is heir. (Arundel HC 121)



1736 James Puttock surrendered, in 1729. Bucktnotts in occupation of John Hamshire, 12 acres, to use of Rev, Thomas Manningham. (Arundel HC 121)



1737 Land Tax -- Rev. Dr. Maningham (PHA 906)



1750 2 fields parcel of Buekmotts. 12a. Dr. Manningham is dead, has wife and son.

Thomas. (Arundel HC 117)

‘Wife, Mary, admitted for her bench, who surrendered to son, Thomas. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1751 Licence to Thomas Manningham to let for 21 years. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1762 Thomas Manningham conditional surrender to Henry Ede. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1763 Thomas Manningham surrendered to Alleyn Groome of Arundell. gent., subject to mortgage to Ede above. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1767 AlIeyn Groome surrendered to use of his will. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1777 Alleyn Groom dead. (WSRC Add MS 49,844)



1778 Elishaw Eade (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1780 Land Tax -- owner: Mr. Grooms. - occupier: Elisha Eeed,



1784 Mary Groome admitted for her bench, (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1789 Death of Mary Groome. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



post 1789 Widdow of Allen Groome for 2 ccpyhold Closes parcel of Buckmotts, 12 acres, (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1802 Jolm Bennet (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1803 Edward Carleton (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1804 Mary Groome, widow of Alleyne Groome. gent., died seized of 2 fields called parcel of Buckmotts. 11 acres, lying on west of road opposite Littwick Lane, only part of Litwick Farm on that side of road. (Arundel HC 120)



1824 Plan of Southland Park in Horsham Museum shows fields to the south - the Lutwick Corner Cottage owned by Exors of John Sayers.





BUCKMOTTS in SLINFOLD (NNW)

(Coloured green on map - click on map to enlarge)

(Tenement & ¼ yardland) Messuage, garden & 25a land Copyhold -- yearly rent 6s.8d.



1563 Walter Nycoll for lands called Buckmote. rent 13s.4d. (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1587 Walter Nicholls showed copy of Court Roll dated 6.9.1531 -- Robert Nicholls and Johanne his wife were admitted together with their son. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1609 Death of Walter Nicholls. Mary, widow, surrendered her free bench to Walter their son. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)





1613 Walter Nicholls granted licence to let for 3 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)





1617 Walter Nicholls granted licence to let for 5 years. (\VSRC Add MS 49.844)



1630 Walter Nicholls surrendered 4 crofts or closes called Buckrnotts or Nicholls Croft cont. 6a in Billingshurst to Thomas Holland (son of Philip), who was under age. Rent: Nicholls to pay l0s, Holland 3s 4d. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1644 Death of Walter Nicholls. Richard Nicholls, youngest son. Licence granted to Richard to let for 5 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1656 Richard Nicholls held at will. Surrendered and afterwards admitted to hold to said Richard and his wife at will. Paid £20. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



post 1651 Richard Nicholls - rent l0s. (includes Buckmotts at t rent 3s.4d.) (Rental. Arundel HC 126)



1662 Richard Nicholls conditional surrender to use of James Puttock -- 2 fields or closes parcel of land above containing 12a lying and abutting on lands called Buckmotts on N. highway from Billingshurst to Stone Street on E, lands called Ridden on N & W, and other lands called Buckmotts on S. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1678 Richard Nichall (Rental. Arundel HC 125)



1695 Richard Nicholls .surrendered in 1693 to Anthony Hunt of Billingshurst, yeoman, -messuage or tenement, barn, garden, orchard, and lands cont. 20a. (Arundel HC 119)





1695 Anthony Hunt (Rental. Arundel HC 120)





1700 Anthony Hunt (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1705 Will & inventory of Anthony Hunt -7 closes containing 16 acres to be sold to pay debts and bring up children; money left to be divided between daughters Jane and Mary; to son Richard, gives his dwelling house, barn and gardens. (Arundel HC 121)



1707 Death of Anthony Hunt. Richard Hunt, son and heir, is under age. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1728 Jane Hunt, widow, dead. Richard Hunt, son, is heir. (Arundel HC 121)



1736 Richard Hunt (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



1737 Land Tax -- Richard Hunt (PHA 906)



1763 Will of Richard Hunt of Slinfold -- messuage, house, barn and land to Mary More during the term of her life, then Elizabeth her daughter to receive sum of £12 to be paid out of said lands. Proved 1763. (Arnndel HC 119)



1764 Death of Richard Hunt. Philip Jackman, youngest son of Mary Jackman, who was youngest sister of Richard Hunt, is heir. Mary More released her interest to Philip Jackman, (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1767 Philip Jackman surrendered to Thomas Holland. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1778 Thomas Holland (Quitrent. Arundel HC 120)



pre 1789 Thomas Holland (Quitrent. Arundel HC 120)



post 1789 Thomas Holland (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1795 Death of Thomas Holland. Philip, nephew, admitted, who surrendered to Adam Baker. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1795 Adam Baker admitted. 20 acres. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1827 Adam Baker dead. Son and 2 daughters admitted who surrender to John Walter. In occupation of Richard Puttock. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1835 John Walter dead. William Walter. brother, admitted. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1839 Tithe Map - - Buckmates -- owner & occupier: William Walters Buckmates House. Shop & Garden: Owner: William Walters. Occupie, James Knight.



1847 William Walter - messuage and lands. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1854 Enfranchised. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1881 William Walter (enfranchised). (WSRO Add MS 18,708)





CARTERS MEAD in Slinfold

Copyhold. 4a - - yearly rent 3s.6d.



1631 Admit Joan Thayre, heir to Edward Thayre, grandfather. Joan about 18, father Henry is guardian. (Brewhurst Deeds Var.3)



1650 Admit Richard Napper on surrender of John Larnaway and Joan his wife who held property in right of said Joan. (Brewhurst Deeds Var.4)



1653 Richard Napper surrendered and readmitted, etc. Paid £8. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1674 Richard Napper, sen. surrendered to himself for life and then to Richard. jun. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1678 Richard Napper, eldest son of Richard Napper, decd, admitted to Carters Mead c. 4a. (Arundel HC 118)



1678 Richard Napper (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1695 Richard Napper (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



170! Richard Napper the elder surrenders to Richard Napper the younger, his eldest son. (Arundel HC 121)



1707 Richard Napper, Jun., dead. John Napper is his brother and heir. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1714 JolmNapper (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1722 John Napper of Hayes (Arundel HC 121)



1737 Land Tax -- John Napper (PHA 906)



1742 John Napper dead. John Napper, only son and heir. (Arundel HC 121)



1743 John Napper of Hyes admitted. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1777 Edward Napper admitted subject to will of father, John Napper decd. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)

1778 Edward Napper (Quitrent. Arundel HC 120)



1780 Land Tax -- owner & occupier: Edward Napper



1784 Edward Napper dead. Edward Napper, about 7 years old, only son and heir. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1803 Edward Napper (Rental, Arundel HC 120)



1831 Land Tax -- owner: Edward Napper. Esq., occupier: P. Walder



1847 Edward Napper dead. John Napper Esq., is his son. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1847 Edward Napper (Jolm Napper son) (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1881 George and William Wells. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)





THE CHEQUERS



(Cottage lately erected & 30 rods of land lately inclosed out of the Wast)

(situated in Rowhook) - Copyhold - yearly rent 2s.



1678 Granted to John Stringer at will at the request of the tenants. (WSRO Add MS

49,844)



1678 John Stringer (Rental. Arundel HC 125)



1700 John Stringer (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



1714 John Stringer for a tenement and smith’s shop, gardens & orchards. (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



1718 John Stringer dead. Grandson John Steere. son of William Steere of Rudgwick and Ann his late wife, is heir. (Arundel HC 121)



1750 Messuage and smith shop at Rough hook, John Steere, (Arundel HC 117)



1778 John Stcere (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1791 Death of John Steere. Son, John Steere admitted. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1796 John Stcere surrenderer to William Johnson. (Arundel HC 120)



1802 Widow March (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1803 William Johnson admitted. (Arundel HC 120)



1812 Death of William Johnson. John Johnson admitted. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1815 Jo!m Johnson of Petworth, clerk, surrendered to William Woods, who died in 1815. William Woods, youngest son, admitted. (WSRO Add MS 18706)



1820 William Woods conditional surrendcr to Richard Buchanan of Shere, Burner. (WSRC Add MS 18,706)



1824 William Woods surrendered to G. Pule. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1832 George Pule surrendered to William Tidy. William Tidy licence to let. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1840 Tithe Map -- Owner William Tidy, occupier George Port.



1847 William Tidy -- cottage and 30 rods of land in Rudgwick, formerly waste. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1849 William Tidy surrendered to Levi Port. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1881 Levi Port (enfranchised) (WSRO Add MS 18,708)





COLLYERS (Tanyard in Slinfold Street)

Freehold -- yearly rent 6d.



1547 Elizabeth Mose for Colyers. (Arundel HC 103)



1552 Elizabeth Mose for Coliers, rent 6d. (Arundel HC 104)



1563 Elizabeth Strynger (later John Perrin)for Colyers, rent 6d. (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1574 Eleonor Stringer, Richard Holman father and Richard Holman son for Colliers.



Richard Holman. senior, and Richard Holman, junior owe a relief for selling a third part of the land formerly William Mose,



Homage to present to next court if Richard Holmam father, has acquired from Elyzabeth his wife, daughter and heir of William Mose, her inheritance called Collyers. (Arundel HC 1061)



1576 Richard Holman has since the last court enfeoffed a cottage and a small close adjacent called Collyers, rent 6d, to Joan Perryn, (Arundel HC 106)



1593 Death of John Burges als Perin, who held freely a messuage and about 1a of land. John Burges als Perin, son of Thomas Burges als Perin his couzen, is next heir. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1600 John Burges als Perin aliened to Reynold Gilbert of Slinfold. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1605 Reynold Gilbert aliened tenement called Collyers to John Ede. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1612 John Ede aliened to Robert Potter (rent 6d and 1 grain of pepper). Robert Potter afterwards aliened to Edward Lewer. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1649 Seat in Church. built by Mistress Blount ‘for alehouse called the Starr in the strete. (now Whitebriars), and for Davies cottadge (Collyers) and for the Rowadams (now Huntingrove)’. (Slinfold Vestry Minutes)



1650/1 Grant by George Mills to Richard Davye of Collyers - in occupation of Richard Sweeting and John Belchamber. (SAS H 644)



1668 Indenture & exemplification of recovery -- Richard Davyes owner of Collvers, (Horsham MS 966 & 967)



1678 William Furlonger in right of his wife Sarah, formerly Sarah Fish. (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1700 William Furlonger in right of his wife. (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



1736 George Crapwell. formerly Ralph Songhurst (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1750 Tenement and garden in Slinfold Street, George Crapwell -- rent 6d and 1 grain of pepper. (Arundel HC 117)



1756 Death of George Crapwell. Sarah, wife of Samuel Briggs, only child and heir. (WSRC Add MS 49.844)



No date George Crapwell is dead, left only one daughter married to Briggs. no cattle. (Arundel HC 117)



1756 Sarah and Samuel Briggs aliened to William Briggs. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1778 Samuel Briggs for his house.

William Briggs for his house, (Quitrent. Arundel HC 120)



1796 William Briggs for Old Tanyard House. (List of Pewholders)



1802 William Briggs (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1820 john Briggs owner of messuage and Tan Yard in Slinfold Street. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1839 Tithe Map -- owner: John Briggs. occupiers: William Briggs and Richard Gravett.



1847 John Briggs (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1881 Representatives of John Briggs. (WSRO Add MS 18.708)





COPPED HALL alias DYERS GARDEN now the Kings Arms (in Billingshurst)



This is one of the properties given in the Dedisham Rentals, and comparison with the Tithe Map indicates that this is the present Bell Cottage. James Fuller. who owned it in 1820 and 1847 in the Rentals, only owned the one property on the Tithe Map.



Copped Hall means “hall with a high roof” which Bell Cottage certainly has.



Deeds of Bell Cottage of 1850.describe the Kings Arms as ‘Copped Hall alias Dyers Garden’



A perambulation of tfle Manor of Bassett’s Fee of 1800 says that the Kings Arms belongs to Dedisham.



It would seem likely that Bell Cottage is indeed the Copped Hall of the Dedisham Rentals, and that it stood on a fairly sizeable plot. Later part of the plot was sold for development and the Kings Arms was built adjacent to the Street. The next house to the south, formerly Cripps the Butchers, is probably also on the original Copped Hall plot. The Dedisham Rentals tend not to mention new properties which have been built on existing holdings.

The Kings Arms was Known as the Bell sometime before 1687, but was not mentioned in a Rental of 1611. It became The Black Lion during the Commonwealth, but later returned to the name The Kings Arms, although Bassett’s Fee Rentals always refer to it as The Black Lion. It was occupied by Thomas Greenfield the butcher for some time during the 18th century, indicating that the butcher’s business was being carried on at The Kings Arms before it moved next door to tine property later occupied by Cripps.

In spite of the fact that the Perambulation of Bassett s Fee states that The Kings Arms belongs to Dedisham, it is listed in all the Rentals of Basset’s Fee itself as one or their properties, as is a House and Cottage which would appear to be Bell Cottage (Bell Cottage was divided into two tenements last century). It seems that the Manor Officials themselves were also unsure to which manor these properties really belonged, as on a sheet of questions to be presented to the Court Leet of 25th April 1639 there is the query ‘to whome the tanement called ye Kings Armes pay quit rent?’ And it would appear from the quitrents that at least Bell Cottage was paying rent to both manors.

The adjacent property of Tayntlands, now Ye Olde Six Bells was also claimed by both Dedisham and Bassett’s Fee, but after 1700 it appears only in the Bassetts Fee Rentals.

COPPED HALL alias DYERS GARDEN now The Kings Arms (in Billingshurst)

Freehold -- yearly rent 2s,



1557 Francis Garton for a croft called the Dyhowse Croft, (Arundel HC 105)



1563 Robert Garton (later Francis Garton) for lands called Dihouse Garden, (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1574 Francis Garton for land called deyhowse croft, (Arundel HC 106)



1593 Will of William Tredcroft of Billingshurst, yeoman, mentions Copied Hall in tenure of Thomas Hayler (SAS C 666)



1651 Tredcrofte had sold to Pannett and Mary his wife. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



post 1651 Isaac Grinfeild for a house caled Copthall in Billingshurst Streete. (Rental, Arundel HC 126)



1678 Isaac Greenfeild (Rental. Arundel HC 125)



1695 Isaac Greenefeild for freehold lands called Dyers garden als Copthall in Billingshurst (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1700 Isaac Greenfeild (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1736 Freehold estate formerly John Greenfeild now Thomas Overdon, (Arundel HC 121)



1750 Tenement called Dyers Garden als Coppthall in High Street now Thomas Overinton, father. Thomas, dead since last court. (Arundel HC 117)



1756 Thomas Overington sold to Elizabeth Parkhurst. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1778 Ann Greenfield (Quitrent. Arundel HC 120)



pre 1789 The ocepiar of Coped Hall in Billingshurst Street, (Quitrent. Arundel HC 120)



1803 Widow Greenfield (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1807 Release – Thomas Greenfield, Private in the Sussex Regiment of Militia (eldest son and heir of William Greenfield, decd) to James Fuller of Billingshurst, butcher, for £600. Copyed Hall alias Dyers garden, in tenure or occupation of Anthony Bridger, since of Ann Greenfield and then of the said James Fuller. (FM, Bourne End)



1818 Mortgage – James Fuller mortgaged property to William Read of Horsham, builder, for £400.’Messuage and tenement backside & garden and the brewhouse lately erected and built thereon, together with all the coppers vats coolers and brewing utensils then standing therein.” (FM, Bourne End)



1820 James Fuller, owner; in occupation of himself. late Greenfield. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1824 Release – James Fuller to John Hoar of Dunsfold, victualler, for £1000 out of which £400 is to be paid to Ann Read, widow of William Read. “Messuage or tenement then used as an inn or public house and called by the name of the Kings Arms, stables yard backside and garden and the brewhouse then lately erected thereon, situate near the street of Billingshurst, and commonly known by the name of Coppyed Hall alias Dyers Garden.” (FM, Bourne End)





1824 Mortgage – John Hoar mortgaged property to Edward Patrick of Petersfield, Esq., for £700. £100 repaid 1827. (FM, Bourne End).



1827 Release – John Hoar to George Puttock of Billingshurst, Innkeeper, for £600 + £600 to be paid to Edward Patrick (£600 repaid to Mr Patrick in 1831) (FM, Bourne End)



1832 Mortgage – George Puttock mortgaged property to William Harding of Eashing, Veterinary Surgeon, for £300. (FM, Bourne End)



1841 George Puttock repaid William Harding, - property reconveyed to George Puttock. (FM, Bourne End)


MANOR OF BASSETT’S FEE


DOG AND PARTRIDGES, PREVIOUSLY THE BLACK LION

(Referred to in 1861 Abstract of title as “The piece of Meadow Land”) (in Billingshurst)

1710 Release – John Whitaker of Billingshurst, Yeoman, to Thomas Greenfield of Billingshurst, Butcher, for £130. ‘Messuage or tenement commonly known by the sign of the Dog and Partridges, heretofore by the name of the Black Lion, together with all that close of land thereunto belonging containing by estimation 2 acres of land, situate in or near the Vill or Street of Billingshurst, then or late in the tenure or occupation of John Whitaker, together with all and every the buildings garden orchards etc’ (FM, Bourne End)



1768 The said Thomas Greenfield, by his will of this date, after several specific bequests not affecting the said premises, gave all the rest of his freehold messsuages lands and tenements to his son Thomas Greenfield, whom he appointed sole executor. (FM, Bourne End)



1806 Thomas Greenfield the son died intestate having had several children all of whom died Infants except his daughter Sarah, who married Thomas Groome of Steyning Court Farm. Mr. Groome also died in 1806 leaving Sarah Groome his Widow. (FM, Bourne End)



1828 Release — Sarah Groome of Steyning, only surviving child to Thomas Greenfield of Billingshurst , Yeoman, who was the eldest son and heir of Thomas Greenfield of Billingshurst Yeoman, to George Puttock of Billingshurst, Innkeeper, for £400. ‘Messuage or tenement heretofore known by sign of the Dog & Partridges and formerly by sign of the Black Lion together with all that close of Land thereunto belonging containing 2 acres, near the Vill or Street of Billingshurst, formerly in the tenure or occupation of John Whitaker and then of James Fuller’ (FM, Bourne End)



BOTH PREMISES



1843 Release — George Puttock to Richard Gates and Thomas Coppard both of Horsham, Brewers and Co-partners, for £1000 + land described below. ‘Messuage or tenement (now used as an Inn or Public House and called the Kings Arms) Stables Yard backside & garden and the brewhouse sometime since erected thereon, lying in the Street of Billingshurst, and formerly commonly called or known by the name of Copyed Hall alias Dyers Garden, formerly in the tenure or occupation of Anthony Bridger since of Ann Greenfield late of James Fuller and then of the said George Puttock. Also, messuage or tenement heretofore commonly known by the name of the Dog and Partridges for formerly known by the sign of the Black Lion, being in or near the Vill or Street of Billingshurst formerly in the tenure or occupation of John Whittaker and since of James Fuller and then of the said George Puttoek.’ (FM, Bourne End)



1843 Richard Gates gave the following property to George Puttock as part of the purchase price of the premises above: ‘Messuage or tenement Tanyard Stable Bark barn drying sheds and other buildings garden orchard and hereditaments situate in the Vill of Billingshurst Also a field close or parcel of land containing by estimation 3 acres situate in the parish of Billingshurst near the Street and commonly called Exciseman’s Field, being parcel of certain lands of the estate of William Streater called Guillmans otherwise Tayntlands, formerly in the occupation of Richard Smart. Also piece or meadow land containing 9 roods as the same was fenced off by a hedge and ditch being formerly part and parcel of a certain meadow called Lower Gingers situate in Billingshurst. All of which said messuage or tenement Tanyard and pieces of land were then in the tenure or occupation of Stephen Evershed under a certain Indenture of Lease.’ (FM, Bourne End)



Richard Gates had bought the above premises from Richard Smart of Billingshurst, Yeoman, and Elizabeth his wife in 1824. The lands secondly described were subject to the unexpired part of a 1000 year lease created by an Indenture of 1799 between William Streater and Thomas Southern of the first part and James Stteater of the other part. (FM, Bourne End)



1844 Mortgage — Richard Gates and Thomas Coppard mortgaged the property to George Marshall of Godalming for £6800, (FM, Bourne End)



1847 James Fuller (WSRO Add MS 18.708)





1855 Conveyance — Sarah Marshall widow of George Marshall, Richard Gates and Thomas Coppard to Robert Bisshopp the younger of Billingshurst, Innkeeper. Both Kings Arms or Copyed Hall alias Dyers Garden, and Dog & Partridge formerly Black Lion with 2 acres of land thereunto belonging; all of which said hereditaments were purchased by Richard Gates and Thomas Coppard of George Puttock and were then formerly in his occupation as tenant to Richard Gates and Thomas Coppard, and were then in the occupation of Robert Bisshopp, and were then better known by the following description: ‘Al! that messuage used as an Inn or Public house and called the Kings Arms situate at Biliingshurst with the market room and tenement fronting the Street, then or late used as a Butchers shop and the stables coachhouse chaisehouse hayhouse woodhouse yard and garden to the said messuage and tenement adjoining. And also a close a meadow land containing 2 acres situate at rear of said messuage and tenement with a cart road leading thereto from the Street of Billingshurst, as same was then in occupation of Robert Bisshopp.’ (FM, Bourne End)



1855 Mortgage - Robert Bisshopp mortgaged property to James Dundas Down of Dorking, Gent., for £1100. (FM, Bourne End)



1857 Mortgage - Robert Bi.sshopp borrowed a further £350 from James D. Down. (FM, Bourne End)



1861 Property described in an abstract of title in possession of Messrs Friary Meux, as “all the premises except the piece of meadow land” (FM, Bourne End)



1881 James Fuller or his representatives. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)


FURTHER INFORMATION re THE KINGS ARMS:

THE KINGS ARMS, BILLINGSHURST

PINKHURST MANOR

(WSRO Add MS49,843)



1642 Ralph Naldrett for Gorefield.



Francis Naldrett for a tavern in Billingshurst Street called le Kings Armes for rent 6d. 1675 Nathaniel Tredcroft. Clerk, for le Kings Arms in Billingshurst, rent 1½d.

William Pellat,. gent. for land there called Gorefield for rent of 3d.



1725 Philip Butcher, son of Thomas Butcher, hath ye Kingsarms, pays 1½d rent. Don’t know whether freehold or leasehold.



Kingsarms and Gorefield is freehold was all one mans right but is now divided. Richard Foice hath ye stable and lane part of ye Kingsarms.


BASSETT’S FEE



1632 Court Baron: To this Court came Thomas Pilfold on behalf of Francis Naldred who is aged less than twenty one years and holds a messuage called The Kings Arms in the Street of Billingshurst which was presented to this Court as being parcel of this manor and under the jurisdiction of this Court. and he asked on behalf of Francis Naldred that the fine against the said Francis Naldred to do suit of court at this Court be suspended until the next Court, at which Court the said Thomas Pilfolde assures that the said Francis Naldred will show his proof of exoneration from suit of Court. Therefore through the Steward concession is given to come to the next Court to show his proof upon pain of 3s 4d. which is agreed by Thomas Pilfold. (Photocopy of original from Bob Dames, ex Lavington Archives. Book 3. reverse, first 8 pages Manor Court of Bassett’s Fee.)



1639 To be enquired of at the Leete: To whome the tanement called ye Kings armes pay quit rent. (Coole & Haddock. now deposited at WSRO)



1800 Perambulation of Boundaries of the Manor of Bassett’s Fee: The First Boundary was made at The Mansionhouse called Great House. Thence South along the Highway towards Pulborough Treading in the West side of Billingshurst Street to The Kings Arms Inn held of the Manor of Dedisham to Boundary 2. Thence treading out the said House and the Garden belonging thereto back into the Highway aforesaid to Boundary 3. (Coole & Haddock. now deposited at WSRO)





THE MANOR OF DEDISHAM



Copped Hall als Dyers Garden now The Kings Arms, See attached sheet giving descent of property in Manor of Dedisham, Also summary of documents held at Friary Meux. Bourne End.

BASSETT S FEE

Information from Bob Dames


King’s Arms, Billingshurst - Called King’s Arms from 1631—1645, Black Lion from 1643—1673, then reverted to old name of King Arms. Black Lion is crest of Henry Goring. Kings Arms claimed by Bassett s Fee, Dedisliam and Pinkhurst After Interregnum, always referred to as Black Lion in Bassett’s Fee records.



White Horse — Large plot centred on present Indian Restaurant. Inn central part (Tandoori House). North part became King’s Head by about 1760. South part divided in 1611 and south half became a shop, roughly where Austin’s is.

Summers came to Bassett s Fee when Duke of Arundel disgraced.

Rosiers came to Bassett s Fee from Arundel at dissolution.


DEDISHAM

Under Itchingfield, 1706, Capt . Michell owns Wells which includes a field named Peter’s Barn Field. Is this Petersland in Dedisham rentals?



William Garton, occupier of Red Lion. Slinfold, grandson of Garton of Adversane. William’s father imprisoned several times in Horsham for religious views.


PROPERTIES IN TWO MANORS


Palmers — Pinkhurst and Wiggenholt

Tayntlands — Bassett’s Fee and Dedisham.

King’s Arms — Bassett’s Fee, Dedisham and Pinkhurst.

Holmans — Wiggenholt and Dedisham.

Smythes — Bassett’s Fee and Dedisham.

Marshalls in Rudgwick belongs to the Manor of Storrington.

Inn called Old King’s Head on east side of Billingshurst Street - nobody sure where.

STRUCTURAL REPORT RE: KINGS ARMS, BILLINGSHURST - TQ 086 259



The Kings Arms now consists or a conglomeration of buildings, all of different ages. Clearly began as timber-framed building which ran from the back of the inglenook chimney northwards. Probably reached as far north as the present building, excluding chimney which has been added to north. Very little of original framing left - only one post (marked on plan). There is access to the roof over the later southern extension, and from here it can be seen that the original roof of the timber-framed building was lower. Just to the south of the chimney is a collar and the remains of two rafters attached to it - the slots which clasped the side-purlins can be seen. The collar and rafters are very weathered to south, so this was outside wall. The one post visible suggests a narrow chimney bay. or possibly a smoke-bay. Probably two other bays. Circa 1600-1650.



Roof over southern extension has no ridge piece, so Pre-1750. Roof raised over original part, new windows inserted and whole refronted probably c 1850. Windows have nibs. Attic rooms in raised part - roof here side-purlin and raking struts (struts almost vertical). Central posts going from floor of attic apparently to apex, but apex not visible.



Gabled tile-hung extension to north-west, and stone-built extension with cellar under to south-west. Well in cellar. Another well at rear of car park. Building over arch rat-trap bond to west, weather-boarded to east, c. 1800, but resting on earlier brickwork and stone. Modern, flat-roofed extensions to north-west joining on to older outhouse which contains Victorian pump.


COUSINS (in Rudgwick)

Messuage & 60a, freehold - yearly rent ld.


Cousins (NGR 094 301) is a two-bay hall house with south bay open. Built c 1500 with many re-used timbers, probably from earlier house on site. Up-braces at each corner of building. Roof side purlin, originally hipped each end. Brick and stone chimney built on west side of hall mid-17th cent. House doubled in size in late 18th cent by range to east under two separate east/west roofs, each has vertical staggered butt purlins, high collars with central strut, all pegged, and ridge piece. South wall has timbering to match earlier house, which was updated at this time; ground floor walls rebuilt in brick, framing given brick infill and roof altered to gable to south and half hip to north. Victorian and later additions to north.



1321 William Cosyn – holds 1 messuage and 3 parts of 1 virgate of land by homage and scutage and by service of 2d. paying on St Thomas’s Day.



Robert Cosyn holds 10½ a. of land by homage and scutage and by service of 20d. at the 4 terms of the year.



1547 William Shelley (Arundel HC 103)



1549 William Shelley has died, John Shelley is son and heir. (Arundel HC 103)



1551 John Shelley has died. William Shelley is son and heir. (Arundel HIC 103)



1552 William Shelley (Arundel HC 104)



1563 William Shelley. Esq., rent ½d. (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1574 William Shelley (Arundel HC 106)



1630 Henry Goring alienation to Mathew Ireland. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1636 Mathew Ireland sold messuage or tenement to Thomas Hogsflesh. Also sold 1 croft parcel of the land c. Cousins to Richard Gardiner, (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1640 Death of Thomas Hogsflesh. Elizabeth, only daughter aged 5, is heir. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1644 Mathew lreland & the rest of the occupiers of Cozens, (WSRO PAR/160/30/59)



post 1651 Mathew Ireland for part of Cosins -- rent 6d. Richard Gardiner for part of the same at the rent divided - rent 6d. (Rental. Arundel HC 126)



1678 John Ireland acknowledged to hold Cosins, (WSRO Add MS 49Y44)

John Ireland rent 1d. (Rental, Arundel HC 125)




1700 John Ireland (Rental. Aruudel HC 121)


1736 Maurice Ireland (Rental. Arundel HC 121)


1750 Maurice Ireland (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1777 Death of Maurice Ireland. By will devised property to son, Henry Ireland, (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1778 Thomas Ireland (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1803 Henry Ireland. (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1831 Land Tax -- Owner Henry Ireland; occupier M. Botting




1839 Tithe Map -- Owner and occupier Thomas Ireland.





DENN LANDS (in Billingshurst)

(Appears to be Grainingfold Farm)

Freehold -- rent 4s.6d



1563 John Nye (Rental. Arunde! HC 125)



1574 Jolm Nye for Deane lands (Arundel HC 106)



1576 John Nye of Slinfold for denne lands. (Arundel HC 106)



1651 George Churcher. Esq., died, left property by will to John Mills, gent., his nephew and heir. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



post 1651 Mr. John Mills for Dannland, (Rental. Arundel HC 126)



1678 John Mills (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1695 John Dibble (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1750 Now sold by Minister of Bread Holmstone, in occupation of Samuel Holder- rent 1s 6d (Arundel HC 117)



1750 Coulbran holds it, in occupation of Samuel Holder. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1756 Denne lands in Billingshurst held by James Ridge of Brighthelmestone, (WSRO Add MS 49.844)

1778 Samuel Oulder for part of Dan. (Quitrent. Arundel HC 121)

1802 James Oulder for part of Dann, (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1820 James Summersett now owner, late Olders; in occupation of Thomas Venn. (WSRO Add MS 18.706)



1841 Tithe Map – Grainingfold - - owner: James Somershall -occupier: Joseph Dale



1847 Jane Summersett (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1856 Death of J. Summersell. John Lawmen and George Stanford, Trustees of James Summersell, aliened to Thomas Cheeseman, (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



188! Thomas Cheeseman. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)





FARTHINGLAND (late parcel of Rudge) (in Rudgwick)

Copyhold, 17a - - yearly rent 5s.

Earlier, 4s., or 4s.6d.



1636 William Bennett dead. Bridgett, wife of Thomas Mitchell. his daughter and heir. Elizabeth, William’s widow, to hold for her bench. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1640 Elizabeth Bennett dead. Bridgett Mitchell, widow, admitted and then surrendered to John Bennett. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1644 John Bennet for the farthinge. (WSRO PA/16O/30/59)



1649 John Bennett surrendered, then readmitted etc. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



post 1651 John Bennet -- 17 acres. (Rental. Arundel HC 126)



1678 Henry Bennett (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1700 Henry Bennet (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



1714 Henry Bennet (Rental. Arundcl HC 121)



1720 Henry Bennet surrenders to use of last will, (Arundel HC 121)



1722 Philip Bennett, youngest son of Henry Bennett, surrenders to William Woodhatch, (Arundel HC 121)



1736 William Woodhatch (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



1750 Farthing parcel of Rudge, William Woodhatch. Now compounded 2s l0d, Mary his wife for her free house 5s. (Arundel HC 117)



1752 Mary, widow, dead. William Woodhatch, by his will left property to Sarah North, daughter of his sister Sarah Figg, and Sarah North, daughter of his nephew John North. Licence to let for 21 years. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1756 Sarah North, daughter of John North. surrendered her moiety to John Worsfold of Petworth, Innholder, for life and then to Elizabeth Worsfold, daughter of said John and Grace, (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1762 Licence to John Worsfold and Sarah North to let for 12 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1777 Death of Sarah North who by her will devised to her mother, Sarah Langley. (WSRO Add MS 49, 844)



1778 Richard May (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1799 Sarah Langley surrendered to William Charman. Mrs. Naines surrendered her moiety to William Charman. Thereafter he was admitted to the whole property. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1799 William Charman of Rudgwick, yeoman, admitted. (Arundel HC 120)



1802 Timber enfranchised to William Charman. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1820 William Charman dead. Leah, widow, admitted. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1840 Tithe Map - owner, Edward Child; occupier, James Munday..



1847 Edward Child (WSRC Add MS 18,708)



1881 Thomas Child (enfranchised). (WSRO Add MS 18.708)



FURZYFIELD ALIAS FURZEHILL (in THE HAVEN, Rudgwick)

freehold, 16a -- yearly rent ls.6d.



1563 Richard Cowper als Stenyng for Hurland als Fyrshyll. (Arundel HC 125)

1574 Richard Cowper als Steyning for hurr lands als Furshall. (Arundel HC 106)



1596 Henry Thayer lately purchased of Richard Cowper als Steyning. (WSRC Add MS 49,844)



1601 Death of Henry Thaver. Alledged that by will gave it to Robert Thayer, who was ordered to produce will at next court. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1605 Ordered that Edward Thayer, son and heir of Henry Thayer, come to do fealty for such lands as he is supposed to hold of this manor on pain of 20s. But if the said Edward shew that any other is tenant he to be amerced 20s. for that he hath not attended to do his fealty and suit of court. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1636 Death of Robert Thavre. Henry Thayre nephew next heir. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1644 Henry Thayer for furshill. (WSRO PAR/160/30/59)



post 1651 Robert Gibbons for Furshill alias Fursyfeild - rent ls.6d. (Rental. Arundel HC 126)



1678 Robert Gibbons for Furzefeild alias Furzehill - rent ls.3d. (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1685 Robert Gibbons sold part of Furzehill to John Knight. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1695 John Napper aliened to John Steanning 1s. 3d. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1695 John Steaning. by apportionment with John Knight - rent ls.3d,

John Knight by apportionment with Robert Gibbons - rent 3d. (Rental, Arundel HC 120)



1700 John Stenninge alias Cowper - rent ls.3d. (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



1736 John Stenninge alias Cowper dead. Furzehill left by will to Arthur Butcher, kinsman, - - rent ls.3d. (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



1750 Lands called Furzehills als Furzeland. 15a - Arthur Butcher - rent Is 3d, (Arundel HC 117)



1750 Land called Jenkinsham. part of Furzehill - - John Seaman - rent 3d. (Arundel HC 117)



1767 Arthur Butcher died seised and Robert Butcher, his brother, aliened to Henry Tullett. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1778 Widow Seman for part of Firshill -- rent 3d.

James Fransis for Firshill -- rent Is,3d. (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1784 Henry Tullet aliened to James Baker -- rent ls.3d. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1802 John Seaman for part of Firshill - - rent 3d.

Mr. Baker for Firshill - rent ls.3d. (Quitrent. Arundel HC 120)



1803 John Seaman - - rent 3d.

James Baker - - rent ls.3d (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1820 Robert Strudwick and Henry Field owners of fields, in own occupation.

John Poltock owner of part of Furzehill, in own occupation - rent 3d. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1838 Robert Strudwick died seized of Furze Field. Henry Field died seized of other part of same holding. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1840 Tithe Map - - owner: David Butcher;; occupier, James King.



1847 Daniel Butcher -- land part of Furzehill -- rent 1s.

Henry Field (see Strudwick) -- lands called Furzehill -- rent 1s.3d.

John Poltock -- part of Furzchill -- rent 3d.

William Sharp - - house called Furzehill - rent 3d. (WSRO Add. MS 18,708)



1853 Death of Jolm Poltock -- rent 3d. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1856 Daniel Butcher owner of part -- rent 1s. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1861 George Jupp owner of Furzehill. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1881 George Jupp -- rent ls.3d. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)

NOTE: Upper Furze Fields – Is there any record of furze having been cultivated in Sussex as food for oxen? It is a very frequent field-name in the Surrey & Sussex Weald. It appears as far back as the early part of the 14th century at West Chiltington among the rolls at Wiston (SAC Vol 53, p. 156) and also at Itchingfield where the name stems from Firsefeld (1357 Ibid Vol 53, p. 156), and that the s is pseudo-manorial. At Ashurst, a similar name, Furzefield, crops up in connection with Sibel atte Ferse (1296 SR) and Galfricus atte Furs’ (1332 SR).At Fishergate, Withyham, there was a small watermill for crushing the furze for fodder, as was done in other parts, About 1858 a man had his hand cut off in this mill and oxen were used there in 1868 and probably later.(Sx N&Q Vol. IV., p. 222). It is interesting to note that Furze is locally known in the Westham area as “Hawth” and there are six fields containing the term Hawthey Field, Hawth, or Hawthey; the word Furze does not appear in any of the field names in that part of the County., although it seems to be common in Kent and almost always for fields which contain a small amount of furze among the rough pasture, and almost entirely unknown in context with cultivation. (Sx N&Q., Vol IV., p252). The word upper, comes from the OE huper, being the opposite meaning to OE nether, meaning lower.


GARDEN LYING AT BILLINGSHURST

Copyhold -- Yearly rent 8d



1563 Richard Tredcroft (Arundel HC 125)



1574 Francis Garton, gent. holds at will a garden in Billingshurst. rent 8d. (Arundel HC 106)



1605 Francis Garton dead. Heir not known (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1647 Giles Garton, esq. dead. Mary Garton, only daughter and heir, is 12 years old. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)





GASKINS (in Slinfold)

Copyho1d -- Yearly rent l0s.

Messuage, garden and land c.Atgaston



1321 Godfrey ate Garstone holds 1 messuage and 1 virgate and 1 ferling of land by service of 7s. 2d. paying at Michaelmas. (SRS 60 p.63)



1549 Richard Holland licence to let tenement and land called le gaston. (Arundel HC 103)



1563 Richard Holland for Gastons, (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1587 Thomas Holland produced copy of Court Roll dated 6.10.1541; Richard Holland and Sybell his wife to hold for their lives.



1599 Elizabeth Holland, wife of Thomas Holland, and Philip their son, to hold for their lives after the death of the said Thomas. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1601 Death of Thomas Holland. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1612 Licence granted to Elizabeth Holland to let for 3 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1617 Licence granted to Elizabeth Holland to let for 4 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1624 Elizabeth Holland and Philip Holland surrendered, and regranted to Philip and Joan. his wife, for their lives. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1631 Philip Holland, senior, and Joan his wife, surrender. Regranted to Philip, Joan, and Philip, their son, aged 12 years. At Garston als Gaston (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1642 Release to Philip Holland, to be holden of the cheife Lord of the Fee and Fees thereof (Arundel HC 117)



1750 There is such an estate, supposed to be freed, now in occupation of Philip Holland. (Arundel HC 117)





NOTE: Gaskyns – is Gaskens al. Gastons (1731 Deed) v gaestun, meaning paddock. (Sx N&Q VIII., p. 154). Gaskyns (formerly Gaskyns Farmhouse) C15th timber-framed building with painted brick infilling, ground floor partly close-studded. Curved braces above. Tiled roof. Casement windows. Two storeys. Four windows. Modern addition behind.





GYLL HALE (Slinfold) CHEWTON now stands on the site (See Star/Weeping Eye)

Rent 6d



1576 Homage to enquire against next Court by what title John Stringer holds a croft and 1 acre near the Church of Slynfold. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1576 John Stringer, inhabitant next to the church of Slynfold, holds of the lord a customary tenement containing by estimation l acre called Gyll Hale, rent 6d. It is not known by what title he holds. (Arundel HC 106)



NOTE: "The large open space in front of the church and to the north of the plot of land belonging to Stanford House was enclosed by 1576, when the manor court of Dedisham wanted to know by what title John Stringer of Old House Farm held a croft containing one acre. There is no further mention of this property in the records of Dedisham manor, which suggests that when the cottage now known as Chewton was built on the plot a few years later it was let on a long lease, rather than being copyhold." (Slinfold Street. The Development of a Village in the Sussex Weald. Diana Chatwin. Slinfold Society p48. ISBN 095393080-7)


HALE (in Rudgwick)

Freehold -- yearly rent £1. 6s. 8d.



1554 Richard Cowper als Steynyng to show how he holds certain land called le Hale lying next land formerly John Mose in the parish of Rudgewyk. (Arundel HC 105)



1563 Richard Cowper als Stenyng at Halle. (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1574 Richard Cowper als Steyning of hale for lands called at the hale. (Arundel HC 106)



1576 Richard Cowper als Steyninge de Hale. (Arundel HC 106)



1578 Death of Richard Cowper als Stevning of Hale. John Cowper als Steyning is son and heir, aged 4 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1605 John s. of Join Steninge of Halle. (PR)



1608 Elizabeth d. of John Stening of Halle. (PR)



1609 Jann d. of John Steninge of Hale, (PR)



1612 Jane d. of Join Steyninge of Hale. (PR)



1617 Death of Anne Steyninge wife of John of Hale, (PR)



1630 Death of John Steinning of Hale. (PR)



1631 John Stennyng dead. Richard Stennyng son and heir. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1644 Richard Stenninge of Hale. (WSRO PAR/160/30159)



post 1651 Anne Woolvin, widow, and Jane Stenninge - John Parkhurst, tenant. (Rental, Arundel HC 126)



1678 William Yalden. Esq. in the right of his wife, Jane. (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1695 Jane Yalden. widow. (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1700 William Yalden (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1714 William Yalden. Esq. (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1742 William Yalden dead. John Yalden brother and heir. (Arundel HC 121)



1750 Lands called Hale in Rudgwick - Query there is lands called South Hale pays to Duke of Norfolk and adjoins to Great Hale, Mr. Yalden. Query if to Mr. Michael Harmes -- rent 13s 4d. (Arundel HC 117)



1750 Death of John Yalden. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1752 John Yalden dead.



1778 John Ryde (probably tenant). (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



pre 1789 The Rev. Mr. Yalden. (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1802 John Ireland (probablv tenant). (Quitrent, HC 120)



1803 Richard Yaldwyn aliened Hale to Thomas Woobery of Cranley. (Arundel HC 120)



1838 William Wobery dead. Thomas and William Wobery now in occupation. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1840 Tithe Map -- owner, Mary Harmes; occupier. Thomas Woberry.



1847 Miss Harmes. (WSRO Add MS 18.708)



1856 John King owner. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1881 John King. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)





HAYES (in Slinfold)

freehold -- yearly rent 4s 6d



1631 Thomas Nye, gent., dead. John, his son and heir, about 10 years old. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1750 Lands called Hayes in Slinfold, there is such lands occupied of Mr. Pickwell of Chichester let to Richard Charman. (Arundel HC 117)



HEYTHORNFIELD (Parcel of Snells) (in Rowhook)


Copvhold. 7a -- yearly rent 2s.2d.



1662 Richard Rooming surrendered Heythornfield to the use of Francis Edwards, rent 3d. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1666 Francis Edwards surrendered to Bartholomew Ruminge, who surrendered to Thomas Chennell. rent 3d. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1678 Thomas Chennell (Rental. Arundel HC 125)

Thomas Chennell readmitted to hold at will. (WSRC Add MS 49,844)



1700 Thomas Chennell (Rental. Aruudel HC 121)



1707 Thomas Chennell died. Thomas Chennell grandson is heir (Arundel HC 117)



1712 Thomas Chennell surrendered to Elizabeth Furlonger, widow, together with lands parcel of Rudge, 4s.4d.. (Arundel HC 121)



1714 Elizabeth Furlonger of Billingshurst, widow, admitted, (Arundel HC 121)



1728 Elizabeth Furlonger, widow, died seized of Heythornfield in occupation of Thomas Evershed. By will left it to 2 daughters, Susannah Austen, widow, and Sarah Dear1ing, wife of James Dearling. (Arundel HC 121)



1728 Susannah Austen and Sarah Dearling surrender Hethornfield, now In occupation of Richard Ockley, to Elizabeth, daughter of said Richard. (Arundel HC 121)



1736 Elizabeth Ockley. (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



? Elizabeth Ockley married ? Longhurst. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1770 Licence to Elizabeth Longhurst to let for 11 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1778 Widow Longhurst. (Quitrent. Arundel HC I 20)



1795 Elizabeth Longhurst dead, William Longhurst, son, admitted, and surrendered to uses of will. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1802 Widow Dendv. (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1803 William Longhurst. (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1805 Enfranchisement of timber to Longhurst. (WSRO Add MS 49,.844)



1812 William Longhurst surrenders to Henry Stepney of Rudgwick, millwright. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1816 Henry Stepney surrenders to Thomas Stepney of Shipley, wheelwright. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1824 Thoman Stepney of Rudgwick, yeoman, surrenders to Thomas Piper. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1827 Thomas Piper surrenders to James Bravery. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1843 Death of James Bravery. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1847 Richard Atlee and James Cheesman (Trustees of James Bravery). (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1856 Admission of G. Trimmer under will of James Bravery, (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1881 Timothy Coleman Johnson, (WSRO Add MS 18,708)





HILLAND (Parcel of Rowhook)(in Rudgwick)

Copyhold, 3 closes cont. 18a -- yearly rent 4s.

(Later held together with freehold land called Townlands, rent l0d

Rents sometimes transposed.)



1547 A bridge at hillond is ruinous, Jolm Stringer to repair it. (Arundel HC 103)



1551 Mathew Godard to make bridging at Hillond. (Arundel HC 103)



1553 Bridge called Hilland bryge is ruinous. Mathew Goddard to repair it. (Arundel HC 104)



1622 Edward Stringer surrendered parcell of Rowhook called Hill land, being pasture and Ribbet land 12a, and in rough ground 12 a., to William Mose, son of Robert Mose, (6 years old). Lord appointed Robert guardian. (WSRC Add MS 49,844)



1636 Henry Mose dead. Agnes Mose, youngest sister, is heir. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1647 Hugh Penfold and Agnes, his wife, surrendered 3 closes or crofts of land and wood called Hilland in Rudgwick, 18 a., to .Matthew Napper. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1653 Matthew Napper surrendered and readmitted, etc. Paid £17. (WSRO Add MS

49,844)



1644 John Stidrnan for milland? (WSRO PAR/160/30/59)



post 1651 Mathcw Napper for 3 closes of land and wood containing 18 acres, (Rental, Arundel HC 126)



1678 Matthew Napper (Rental, Arundel HC l25)



1692 Matthew Napper surrendered Hilland, in occupation of Henry Naldrett, to John Napper, Junior, son of John Napper, son of Matthew. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1695 John Napper (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1714 John Napper (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



1743 Jolm Napper of Greene dead. John Napper, only son and heir. (Arundel HC 121)



1767 John Napper surrendered to Michael Harmes. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1167 Michael Harmes of Rud2wick. Gent., admitted - 18 acres. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



pre 1789 Michael Harmes of Hilland parcel of Rowhooke. (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1803 Michael Harmes. (Rental, Arundel HC 120)



1806 Enfranchisement of timber to Michael Harmes, (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1807 Death of Michael Harmes. Mary Harmes admitted. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1847 Mary Harmes devised to H. King -- tenement and lands. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1881 Henry King. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)





HITCHCOCKS, ALIAS HAREMONGERS (in Rudgwick)

Freehold -- yearly rent 1s.



1552 John Mose, who held tenement and a parcel of land and pasture called Hichcokes, has died. Agnes Mose, widow, holds by copy of 10th July 1544. (Arunded HC 104)



1563 Agnes Mose, copyhold, rent 6s. (Rental. Arundel HC 125)



1617 Robert Mose sold to Richard Cheeseman. (Arundel HC 117)



1647 Richard Cheeseman died. Heir is his daughter, Katherine Stenninge, wife of Johm Stenninge. (Arundel HC 117)



post 1651 John Butcher (Rental. Arundel HC 126)



1663 Conveyance by John Cowper alias Butcher of Rudgwick. yeoman, and Richard Cowper alias Butcher of Rudgwick. yeoman, to John Knight of Rudgwick husbandman. In consideration of £200, all edifices, lands, etc.- 32 acres -- in tenure of Thomas Stidman. (Abstract of Title to Hermongers Estate deposited at WSRO by Miss Secretan)



1666 John Butcher aliened to John Knight. (Arundel HC 117)



1672 Probate of will of John Knight of Rudgwick, yeoman, leaving premises to Henry Knight his brother for life, then to John Knight, son of said Henry, then to Jane Knight, daughter of Henry.



1678 John Knight died. Henry Knight, brother, is heir. (Arundel HC 117)



1685 Henry Knight died. John Knight is son and heir. (Arundel HC 117)



1695 John Knight (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1713 Lease and release by John Hill, of Ewhurst. Surrey, yeoman, and Jane his wife, William Hill of Warnham, yeoman, and Mary his wife, said Jane and Mary being daughters and coheirs of John Knight, son of Henry Knight, late of Rudgwick. Decd. and Sarah, widow of said John, to John Michell of Rudgwick, yeoman. In consideration of £263 4s. 6d.



1714 John Mitchell (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1730 Death of John Mitchell. Edward, son and heir. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1746 John Michell dead. Edward Michell, son, is heir.



1783 Edward Michell dead, Edward Michell, son, is heir.



1811 Edward Michell alienated Hitchcocks to the Earl of Egremont.



1838 Earl of Egremont died seized of Hitchcocks. Col Wyndham now owner. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1847 Col. Wyndham (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1873 George Augustus Haig, Esq. owner. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1881 George Augustus Haig. (WSRO Add MS 18.708)


NOTE: The Old Farmhouse at Hermongers stands on high ground close to the Surrey/Sussex border. Edward Mitchell, who had previously been the tenant of Hermongers, bought the property in 1669. Over the next 60 years his descendants built up a small estate by purchasing the adjacent properties of Old Land, Hitchcocks, Godleys, and Lemons which is in Surrey. In 1811 another Edward Michell sold the estate to the Earl of Egremont, who in turn sold it in 1854. In the 1870s the estate was bought by James and Robert Crichton who built themselves a large house just south of the original farmhouse. This new house was called Hermongers Hall, and the old farmhouse became a farm cottage.

Hermongers Farmhouse is a very late open hall house which was built c 1550. It is a four-bay building, the two end-bays being floored. The hall was undershot, so that although it was two bays wide on the ground floor, only one bay was open to the roof. To the north of the open bay there was a gallery connecting the upper chambers at one end of the building with the chamber at the other end. The smoke from the hearth was thus confined to a small area.

Wall framing of the building is largely hidden from view by later renovations, but photos taken during building work show that the framing was very symmetrical and decorative. The clasped side purlin roof has a half-hip at either end, which is unusual for a hall house. The other feature more normally associated with 17th century houses is the lambs-tongue chamfer stops on the joists of floored hall bay and on the side purlins; the eastern chamber was clearly the most important as the purlins are both chamfered and stopped, over the hall chamber and the western chamber the purlins are shamfered but without stops, and over the open hall bay they are quite plain.

To the north-east of this main range is a brick facewing with chimney. This wing has only one room on each floor, but it has a cellar and the roof is dropped tie construction which gives a useable attic room, so that this wing considerably increased the accommodation. It was very likely built by the Michells once they had bought the property.

The presence of a good brick stack in the facewing would explain why the open hall continued in use for so long. It was only floored in 1694 when a chimney was added to the south of the building. This stack had a decorated metal strap about half way up with the date and initials I. M. These stand for John Michell who owned the property at this time, and his initials are also carved on both the ground floor and first floor hearths. The inventory of all his goods and chattels taken upon John’s death in 1705 makes a mention of the new chamber over the hall.

Behind the chimney is a single-storey brick extension, the west wall of which was originally open rather like a cattle hovel. An extra flue was added to the chimney at this time, and this little extension probably served as brewhouse or wash house to the farm.



“The Development of Timber-Framed Buildings in the Sussex Weald, The Architectural Heritage of the Parish of Rudgwick”. By Diana Chatwin. Rudgwick Preservation Society, 1996. pp127-9. ISBN 0 907264 99 9


HURLAND & FREELAND (in Slinfold?)

Free land -- yearly rent 18d

Tenement & garden -- 2d (1750)

Mess & 6a land -- rent 2d (WSRO Add MS 49,844)


1547 John Cowper als Stenyng holds from the king certain free land c. harlond. (Arundel HC 103)



1548 Alice Wakeham to make a ditch at Herlond. (Arundel HC 103)



1563 Richard Cowper als Stenyng for lands called Hurland als Fyrshyll, rent 1/6. (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1574 Richard Cowper als Stevning for lands called hurr lands als Furshall. (Arundel HC 106)



1587 Katherine Randall, daughter and heir of Richard Wakam, aliened to Johm Penfold. (WSRO Add MS 49844)



1588 John Penfold did fealty. (WSRC Add MS 49,844)



1591 John Penfold aliened to William Stedall. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1750 Mr. Maurice Ireland. (Arundel HC 117)





JANES (in The Haven, Rudgwick)

Copyhold, 35a -- yearly rent 6s.



1563 Edward Walys (Rental. Arundel HC 125)



1588 John Hopkins alias Hobbs admitted for life and did fealty. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1588 John Hobbs surrendered. readmitted for life: Jane, wife, admitted for life; after death of both, to children of John and Jane as John should nominate. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1600 Licence to John Hobbs to let for 6 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1617 Licence to John Hobbs to let for 5 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1624 John Hobbs of Portsmouth granted licence out of court to let for 3 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1631 Licence to John Hobbs to let for 3 years. (XVSRO Add MS 49,844)



1644 Edward Thayer (WSRO PAR/160/30/59)



1649 The lords grant to Richard Napper and his heirs I messuage, barn and 40a land called Janes in Rudgwick at will of the Lords according to the custom of the manor etc. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1649 Richard Napper surrendered to Oliver Longe. gent., son of Edmund Longe. Esq., of Lineham, Wilts. Oliver admitted but fine respited as he only 5 years old. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1658 Elizabeth Mohun admitted guardian to Oliver Longe. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



post 1651 Mr. Oliver Longe - a house and 40 acres. (Rental. Arundel HC 126)



1678 Oliver Longe (Rental. Arundel HC 125)



1695 Presented that Oliver Longe solde to Partridge, gent.. divers freeholds presumed to have been enfranchised as no rent or service appears since this point. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1695 Partridg (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1700 John Garton (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1750 Thomas Deny, in occupation Rd Wood, occupied John Puttock. (Arundel HC 117)



1803 Lost (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



LEWKNERS GARDEN (now Luckins Garden in Billingshurst High Street)

Freehold -- yearly rent 1s.



post 1651 Widow Drapier for a house at Billingshurst Street at the Walke Stile. (Rental, Arundel HC 126)



1678 Caleb Drapyer (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1680 Lease for 1 year by Susannah Draper of Horsham spinster, to Caleb Draper of Billingshurst shoemaker, of messuage or tenement, shop and woodhouse with platt of ground belonging containing 1 rood called Lewkner’s garden, purchased by John Draper grandfather of said Susannah of Richard Blount late of Dedisham in Slinfold esq. long since deceased; together with 1 rood of ground whereon the said shop was then standing purchased also by John Draper the grandfather, of Richard Jupp of Billingshurst, decd, (SAS ND 190)



1680 Death of Caleb Draper who devised property to Thomas Draper son of Thomas Draper, and Joseph Draper son of Peter Draper, equally. Both under age. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1695 Thomas Draper (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1700 Joseph Drapier (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1708 Joseph Draper sold to John Farley (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1778 Arm Greenfield (Quitrent. Arundel HC 120)



1750 John West held it. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1782 Will of Ann Greenfield - Bequeaths Lukeners Garden in occ. of Mrs. Worsfold and William Jenner to her daughters Elizabeth Matthews and Ann Worsfold to hold to them as joint tenants (in possession of Friary Meux, Boume End)



1802 Mrs. Matthews for Lukers Garden. (Quitrent. Arundel HC 120)



1820 Richard Smart of Billingshurst farmer, now owner. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1838 Richard Smart dead. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1841 Tithe Map - Eliz, Smart owner- occupiers: Jas Page, garden; Jas. Page & Rd Reid, 2 cottages and garden; Sarah Holden & others, 4 tenements; Avis Norris, cottage.



1847 Mrs. Smart, messuage and lands. (WSRO Add MS 18.708)



1881 Representatives of Richard Smart. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)


THE LITTLE ROOD (in Slinfold)

Freehold -- Yearly rent 2d



1552 Alice Wakeham asked to be allowed to pasture one cow on the pasture called

Marshalls. This was deferred to the next court for counsel to be taken. (Arundel HC 104)



1552 Alice Wakeham for land called Little Rode, rent ld. (Arundel HC 104)1563 Alice Wakeham (later William Randell). (Rental. Arundel HC 125)



1593 John Penfold, who held lands in Slinfold called the Little Rode by 2d rent, aliened to William Sindolf, Gent. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)





LITTLE TITTLESFOLD (The Haven, Rudgwick)

Copyhold, 9a~ yearly rent 5s.



1321 Matilda, widow of Titlesfolde holds 1 messuage and 3 pieces of land by service of 14d. paying at the 4 principal terms of the year in equal parts. (SRS 60)



1549 John Knight, who held cottage and land called lytill Tylfold. has died. Joan Knight is sister and next heir of John.



1563 Julyan Knight (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1598 Lord granted property to Walter Knight and heirs. Granted at request of Sir Thomas Egerton Kt., Lord Keeper of the Great Seal of England. By reason of a suit depending in the Chancery before said Lord Keeper for the same lands. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1600 Licence to Walter Knight to let for 3 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1636 Walter Knight surrendered to himself for life, remainder to Richard Knight his son. Walter Knight did fealty, Richard respited being infirm. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1644 Walter Knighte for Little Tiddlesfold, Bakershaw and part of Makfold land, (WSRO PAR/160/30/59)



1644 Since last court Richard Knight surrendered to Thomas Knight for life, reversion to Richard Knight, son of John Knight, on condition that Richard pay his father Thomas £4 on 4.2.1644 at John Knight’s house called Bakershaw. Thomas admitted for life. Richard admitted to him and heirs after death of Walter. Thomas did fealty, Richard respited being 15 years old. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1647 Death of Walter Knight. Thomas Knight.jnr. already admitted. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1655 Thomas Knight surrendered and readmitted for life and after his decease to Richard Knight and Mary his wife, at the will of the lord, etc. Gave for such their estate £14. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



post 1651 Thomas Knight - 9 acres. (Rental. Arundel HC 126)



1678 Richard Knight, messuage. barn & 8a. (Arundel HC 118 & Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1678 Richard Knight surrendered and readmitted to hold by rent of 5s, best beast on death or surrender, fine at will of lord, (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1695 Death of Richard Knight. Thomas knight, youngest son, admitted. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1695 Thomas Knight surrenders messuage, barn and 8a customary land to John Cowper alias Steyning of Rudgwick.yeoman (Arundel HC 119 & 121)



1714 John Steyninge alias Cooper (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



1726 John Steyninge alias Cooper surrendered to the uses of his will. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1730 John Stening alias Cowper died 1730- left Little Tittlesfold in will to Arthur Butcher, kinsman, aged 15. Arthur and Mother admitted. (Arundel HC 121)



1736 Arthur Butcher (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1743 Arthur Butcher licence to let for tip to 21 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1756 Mr. Arthur Butcher of London, Surgeon, possessed of Lr. Tittlesfold at death. (Arundel HC 117) Robert Butcher, youngest brother, is heir. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1757 Robert Butcher surrendered to brother Philip Butcher, who surrendered to the uses of his will. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1778 John Peling (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



pre 1789 Mr. James Briges for Little Tidsell, (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1784 William Briggs admitted, (Arundel HC 120)



1802 John Pelling (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1803 William Briggs of Shipley. (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1807 William Briggs surrenders to Joas Pelling. (Arundel HC 120)



1827 Joas Pelling surrenders to William Sharp. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1832 Licence to cut timber. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1840 Tithe Map -- owner William Sharp; occupier James King.



1847 Joas Pelling (see Sharp) - - messuage and lands, (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1856 Death of William Sharp. Charles Sharp admitted. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1881 Edward John Bunny (enfranchised). (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



MILLFIELDS (in Rowhook, Rudgwick)

Copyhold - yearly rent £1 6s.8d.



1557 William Stedman, who held of the lord a tenement and land called le Myll Felde by copy, has died. Emery Stydman 12, is youngest son of William. Thomas Charlneth? to hold during minority.



1563 William Stydman (copyhold). (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1599 Emery Stedman conditional surrender to Richard Blount. lord of manor. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1644 John Stidman for Milland, (WSRO PAR/160/30/59)



1644 Thomas Terry & Tymothy Brott for Millfields (presumably not this property). (WSRO PAR/160/30/59) – note: “Brott” may be “Butt”



1678 John Butt (Rental, Arundel HC 125)

In occupation William Edwards. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1695 John Butt, in occupation of William Edwards. (Rental, Arundel HC 120)



1700 Timothy Butt (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



1750 Mr. Maurice Ireland. (Arundel HC 117)



1803 Lost. (Rental. Arundel HC 120)





MORGANS GREEN (called Cozens in later rentals) (in Rudgwick)

Freehold - yearly rent ls.6d. in lieu of a capon

Cottage built on waste, lands of John Shelley Kt called Cousins on east, lands of Thomas Cowper on west.



1524 Richard Cooper at Mylne (Lay Subsidy Roll)



1610 Jn. Shelley of Michelgrove owned Kings Gibbles field to east of Morgans Green called Long Gibble on Tithe Map.



1621 Nicholas Naldret acknowledged that he had built by the Lord’s licence. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1627 Bargain and Sale by Richard Blount of Dedisham esq. to Nicholas Naldrett of Rudgwick husbandman. and Nicholas Naldrett his eldest son, of messuage or dwellinghouse erected by the said Nicholas Naldrett the father with the leave of the said Richard Blount on the waste belonging to his manor of Dedisham in Rudgwick near to certain lands of Henry Goring esq. holding of the said manor of Dedisham and a garden plot to the same belonging; rent yearly on New Years Day 1 fat capon and doing service at the Court of the said Richard Blunt of the said manor of Dedisham when summoned as other freeholders. (SAS H 617)



? John Lewer of Rudgwick, hushandman. sold to Richard Hoad. (Horsham Museum MS 981)



1678 Richard Hoade (or Howard) (Rental. Arundel HC 125)



1683 Richard Hoad of Rudgwick, husbandrnan, and Mary his wife sold to Johm Short of Rudgwick husbandman. (Horsham Museum MS 981)



1685 John Short purchased it. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1693 JoIn Shor of Rudgwick. husbandman. and Sarah his wife sold to Richard Swan of Rudgwick. husbandman. (Horsham Museum MS 982)



1695 Richard Swan sold to William Taylor of Rudgwick. husbandman. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1695 William Taylor for cottage and garden plot (Rental, Arundel HC 120)



1698 Will of William Taylor. Messuage bequeathed to Jane Taylor, his sister-in-law, that lives with him. (Horsham Museum MS 985)



1700 Arthur Rowland (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



1700 Arthur Rowland of Rudgwick. mason, and Jane his wife mortgaged to William Michell of Slynfold. husbandman. (Horsham Museum MS 986)



1701 Arthur Rowland of Rudgwick, bricklayer, and Jane his wife sold to Betty West of Slinfold, spinster. (Horsham Museum MS 989)



1736 Was Elizabeth West’s, now John Gilliam. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1736 John Gilliam Gent. (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1742 John Gilliam alienated cottage to George Naldrett. (Arundel HC 121)



1778 George Naldrett Esq. (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)pre 1789 George Naldrett Esq. (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)1802 John Pelling (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1803 John Pelling for House in the Haven ls,6d. a year which was formerly William Taylor’s. (Arundel HC 120)



1803 William Briggs of Shipley. (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1820 James Piggott owner- in occupation of Maurice Richardson. (WSRO Add MS

18,706)



1838 James Piggott Esq. dead. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1840 Tithe Map -- Owner - Edward Brice Bunny; occupier James Francis,



1847 Edward Bunny - Messuage and Garden. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1881 Edward Price Bunny (believed enfranchised). (WSRO Add MS 18,708)





PETERS in Horsham

Freehold - Yearly rent 2s. 6d.



1321 John Bradebrugg’ holds 1 virgate of land which is called Petereslonde by homage and scutage and by service of 4s. paying half at Lady Day and the other half at Michaelmas.



1513 Mistress Brygett Hussey in occupation of Wyllyam Stanforth and in value by the year vjli (Bodleian MS CH. Sussex a.4.No309)



1547 Henry Hussey for Peteres (Arundel HC 103)



1552 Sir Henry Hussey for Peters (Arundel HC 104)



1563 John Hussey. Esq. for lands called Peters, rent 2s. 6d.(Rental. Arundel HC 125)



1587 John Hussey, Esq. aliened to Stephen Horley, rent 5s, (WSRO Add MS 49,844)





PINKHURST or PINKSTILL GARDEN (in Rudgwick)

Freehold. 2a - yearly rent 2d.



1321 Thomas de Pynkestighele holds 1 messuage and 2 acres of land by homage, scutage, and suit of court and by service of 2d. Paying on St Thomas’s Day 1d. and at Midsummer 1d.



1547 John Ede holds a garden called pinckestillgarden. (Arundel HC 103)



1552 John Ide for garden called Pinkstillgarden. (Arundel HC 104)



1554 Jolm Edy holds a parcell of land called Pynk Style Garden. (Arundel HC 105)



1557 Join Edy held freely a parcel of land called Pyngstole Garden. James Edy is son and heir, aged 14. (Arundel HC 105)



1563 James Ide for lands called The Pynkestyllgardyn. (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1574 James Ede for land called Pvnkstilegarden. (Arundel HC 106)



1591 John Ede enfeoffed to John Blake jun. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



post 1651 George Blake for Pinks Garden. (Rental, Arundel HC 126)



1678 John Blake acknowledged to hold freely lands called Pinckes Garden. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1686 John Blake aliened to Thomas Stimpson of Woking, and the same remains to his daughters who are under age. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1695 Widow Stimpson (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1700 The heires of Nicholas Stringer for Pinkers garden. (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



1736 Francis Atkins sen. (Rental, Arundel HC121)



1742 Francis Atkins and wife, who held in her right, aliened to Daniel Greenfield. who aliened to William Edwards, (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1762 Death of William Edwards. John Edwards brother and heir, (WSRO Add MS 49, 844)



1778 William Garman for Tinkersgarden. (Quitrent. Arundel HC 120)



Pre 1789 John Edwards (incorrectly called Lewkenars garden). (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1783 Death of Richard Woolven. Join Gates’ wife is dauhhter of Woolven. (WSRO Add MS 49844)



1803 John Gates (Rental, Arundel HC 120)



1820 John Gates of Henfield, Esq. dead, Owner now Richard Gates - occupier Job Lelliot. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1847 Richard Gates. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1881 Representatives of Richard Gates(WSRO Add MS 18,708)





PRATTS ALIAS TANNERS (in Billingshurst)

Held freely by knight service -– 80 a.

Freehold -- yearly rent 6d



1548 John Prat to make a ditch to carry away water at Pratts. (Arundel HC 103)



1549 John Pratte must make and scour ditch between Wilstrodwood and Billingshurst. (Arundel HC 103)



1550-51 JolmPratt to make and scour ditch between Wolstrodyswood and his tenement. Repeatedly brought before court. (Arundel HC 103)



1563 John Pratt alias Cowper for Tanners, (Rental. Arundel HC 125)



1574 John Pratt als Cowper for lands called Tanners. (Arundel HC 106)



1587 Death of John Pratt als Cowper. Richard Pratt als Cowper is son and heir. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1600 Death of Richard Pratt als Cowper. Thomas Cowper als Pratt is son and heir. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1648 Death of Thomas Cowper als Pratt, who held freely by knight service. Richard Cowper is his only son and heir, aged 20 years. Because it was ordered by parliament that no tenure should be thereafter by Knight Service and Homage etc, but in free socage only, therefore the said Richard is not seized in Ward but the bayliffe only seized 1 ox for an Heriot and relief 6d.



post 1651 Thomas Cooper (Rental, Arundel HC 126)



1678 Joseph Grcenfeild (Rental. Arundel I-IC 125)



1700 Joseph Greenfeild (RentaL Arundel MC 121)



1736 William Oreenfeild (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1736 Freehold estate formerly John Greenfleld is the estate of Thomas Overdon. Query if not Town Lands. (WSRD Add MS 49,844)



1750 Death of Joseph Grecnfield. William Greenfield, his eldest son, is heir. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1756 William Greenfield aliened to Widow Stert. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1778 Abraham Matthews (Quitrent. Arundel HC 120)



post 1789 Widow Sturt. (Rental, Arundel HC 120)



1802 George Balchin (probably occupier). (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1803 Mary Stert. widow. (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1820 George Stun now owner, late Mary Sturt; in occupation William Balchin. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1847 George Sturt. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)1881 Maurice Ireland. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)





Rowehooke or Stringersland now CHEQUERED OAK HOUSE (in Rudgwick)

Copyhold - yearly rent 16s.

Rent £1 up to 1620 when

Hilland became separate



1563 John Strynger, Jun, for Rowehoocke, rent 20s (includes Hilland). (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1587 John Strynger, youngest son and heir of Walter Strynger, produced copy of Court Roll dated 20.12.1546 whereby he held premises on death of Walter. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1599 Licence granted to Job Stringer to let for 5 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)

1600 Job Stringer surrendered to Allen Stringer, his son. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1601 Allen Stringer surrendered to himself for life, remainder to Edward his son, on condition that he pays William Stringer, youngest son of Allen, £500 within 1 year of decease of Allen. (WSRO Add MS 49844)



1617 Deed shown in Court underhand and seal of Lord, of 20 June last, wherein was specified a licence for underwoods to be felled by Allen Stringer. Also Lord licensed said Allen to fell, cut and coale the underwoods upon part of his copyhold called Hill Land, which being coaled, the coales to be equally divided into 2 parts. Allen to have 1 part and the Lord the other half bearing half the charge of felling, cutting and coaling, and all the tellows and saplings of Oak, Ash and free beech growing amongst the said underwoods. and all timber lopps and offall thereof and all logges lying upon the said Ground felled clift coaled and carried away by the Lord at his pleasure, the said Allevn to fence and incopise the said Grounds. And it was agreed that the said Allevn might have 20 bodyes of the best Appes and Ground beech growing upon the said premises for Trenchers all to his own use, saveing only 6 dozen of Trenchers to be delivered to the said Lord without paying anything for the makeing. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1620 Death of Allen Stringer. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1622 Edward Stringer surrendered parcel thereof called Hill land, being pasture and Ribbet land 12 a, and in rough ground 12a, to William Mose, son of Robert Mose, 6 years. Lord appointed Robert guardian. (WSRO Add M S 49,844)



1644 Edward Stringer for his Owne land. (WSRO PAR/160/30/59)



1644 Edward Stringer from Rough Hook surrendered to use of Joan, wife, and Edmund, son. (Arundel HC 117)



post 1651 Edward Stringer (Rental, Arundel HC 126)



1662 Edw. Stringer senior and junior, conditional surrender 4 fields, parcel of Rowhooke to Thomas Holland. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1678 Edmond Stringer (Rental. Arundel HC P5)



1685 Richard Stringer admitted on surrender of father Edmund to 1ands and tenement called Rough Hooke lying in Rudgwick and Slinfold. (Arundel HC 121)



1700 Richard Stringer (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



1714 Richard Stringer (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



1721 Richard Stringer dead. Son Richard heir. (Arundel HC 121)



1736 Ann Stringer, widow of Richard, and Richard Stringer, youngest son, mortgage to John Napper of Rudgwick. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1743 John Stringer admitted to Rowhook which came into the hands of the Lord on death of Grandmother Ann, wife of Richard, her son Richard having also died. (Arundel HC 121)



1750 Lands called Roughhooke in Rudgwick and Slinfold. John Stringer, (Arundel HC 117)



1762? Sold to Napper of Hyes, (Arundel HC 117)



1767 John Napper of Hyes surrendered to John Napper the younger of Howick and Leah Napper, daughter of Join Napper of Hyes, and intended wife of John Napper of Howick. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1778 John Napper (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



post 1789 John Napper of Howick. (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1799 John Napper surrendered to use of his will. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1802 Mrs. Carter (Quitrent, Arundel NC 120)



1803 Leah Carter, late Napper. (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1816 Death of Leah. widow of John Napper and wife of James Carter; John Napper, eldest son of son John Napper, Thomas Napper youngest son and customary heir, and Join Napper and John Allbery of Rudgwick. miller, surviving trustee in will of John Napper, all admitted, Then surrendered to Charles Holden of Slinfold. Innkeeper. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1838 Charles Holden died seized of Rowhook. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1840 Tithe Map - - Sarah Holden owner; occupies lands herself, house occupied by William Farley and William Holloway.



1847 Charles Holden. (WSRC Add MS 18,708)



1881 William Holden (enfranchised with reservations). (WSRO Add MS 18,708)





RUDGE or RIDGE (between Rudge Farm to north and Old Ockleys to south - now called Blacks Cottage (in Rudgwick)

Copyhold - yearly rent 4s.

6 closes, late parcel of lands called Rudge - the Broadsend 5s; the acre 1a 1r; the Oldoatirsh 6a 12r; the calfefeild 4a; the Rowfeild 6a.



1636 Walter Stenning surrendered to Richard Napper jun. for £21.

Licence to Richard Napper to let for 9 years. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1644 Thomas Worsfold for other part of Rudge. (WSRO PAR/160/30/59)



1649 Richard Napper surrendered a messuage and 27 a. land with barn called Rudge or parcel of Rudge to John Blackwell. (WSRO Add M S 49.844)



post 1651 Thomasin Blackwell, widow, - house and barne and 27 acres. (Rental. Arundel HC 126)



1678 John Blackwell (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1700 John Blackwell (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1714 John Blackwell (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1718 Conditional surrender John Blackwell to William Lipscomb of Dorking. blacksmith. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1719 John Blackwell surrenders to John Antill of Shipley. (Arundel HC 121)



1721 John Antill surrenders Rudge, in occupation of Ockenden Edwards, to use of John Edwards, his son. (Arundel HC 121)



1736 John Edwards (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1762 Conditional surrender, John Edwards to Richard Boume of Wisborough Green. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



pre 1789 John Edwards (Quitrent. Arundel HC 120)



1780 Richard Boume admitted on forfeiture of John Edwards. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



post 1789 Richard Bourne (in occupation of John Nash). (Rental, Arundel HC 120)



1795 John Nash of Rudgwick yeoman admitted. (Arundel HC I20)



1803 John Nash (Rental, Arundel HC 120)



1820 Jolm Nash dead. -- Widow Sarah and sons Joseph and Hugh admitted, (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1838 Sarah Nash dead -- sons Joseph and Hugh surrender to Emily Marshall. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1840 Tithe Map -- owner George Marshall; occupier John Nash,



1847 Emily Marshall -- messuage and lands -30 acres. (WSRO Add MS 18.708)



1881 Timothy Coleman Johnson. (WSRO Add MS 18.708)





RUDGE or RIDGE (Old Ockleys in Rudgwick)

Copyho1d 20a - yearly rent 4s.4d.



1587 William Napper of Ocklys. (PR)



1631 Jane Skyner dead. (Wife of Henry Skyner. late widow of John Romyng,) Robert Romyng, son, is now tenant by virtue of copy of 1627. c. 16 years old. John Martyn is his uncle and guardian. Licence to let for 8 Years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1640 Robert Romyng dead. Richard, his youngest brother, is heir. (WSRO Add MS

49,844)



1644 Thomas Worsfold for part of Rudge. (WSRO PAR /160/30/59)



1655 Richard Romyng surrendered and readmitted to hold at will. Paid £10. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1662 Richard Romyng surrendered since last court to Francis Edwards. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



post 1651 Okenden Edwards and Francis Edwards. (Rental. Arundel HC 126)



1666 Francis Edwards surrendered to Bartholomew Ruminge, who surrendered to Thomas Chennell, (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1678 Thomas Chennell (Rental. Arundel HC 125)



1700 Thomas Chenmell (Rental. Arundcl HC 121)



1707 Thomas Chennell died, Thomas Chennell grandson is heir. (Arundel HC 117)



1712 Thos Chennell surrenders to Eliz. Furlonger (in occ. Jn Cooper). (Arundel HC 121)



1714 Elizabeth Furlonger admitted. (Arundel HC 121)



1728 Elizabeth Furlonger widow died seized of Rudge in occ. of Thomas Evershed. Left by will to two daughters, Susannah Austen and Sarah Dearling. (Arundel HC 121)



1728 Susannah Auystin and Sarah Dearling surrender Rudge, now in occupation of Richard Ockley, to Elizabeth Ockley his daughter. (Arundel HC 121)



1736 Elizabeth Ockley (Rental: Arundel HC 121)



1770 Licence to Elizabeth Longhurst to let for 11 years. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1778 Widow Longhurst (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1795 William Longhurst, son, admitted -20 acres. (Arundel HC 120)



1802 Widow Dendy (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1803 William Longhurst (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1812 Henry Stepney admitted.



1816 Henry Stepney surrenders to Thomas Stepney of Shipley whee1wright. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1847 Richard Atlee and James Cheesman (trustees of J. Bravery) -- land 20 acres. (WSRO Add MS 18708)



1881 Timothy Coleman Johnson. (WSRC Add MS 18,708)



NOTE: Old Ockleys – The first element of Ockleys would most naturally be associated with OE āc or perhaps āca (gen. Pl.), hence “oak-lea” or “field of the oaks”. An alternative explanation is that the first element be taken to be the pers. name Oc(c)a found perhaps in OE Ocea (sic) and certainally in Ocamleah (BCS 627), now Ockley (Sr) (Place Names of Sussex. Mawr & Stenton. Camb UP 1930.)





RUDGE or RIDGE
(Northern property against County boundary) (in Rudgwick)

Messuage and 40a.

Copyhold - yearly rent l0s.



1636 Walter Steyning surrendered since last court a messuage or tenement and lands called the Rudge in Rudgwick 40a. particularly distributed to James Cooper and Elizabeth his wife for their lives, and afterwards to John Cooper their son. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1644 Michaell Cluster for parte of Rudge. (WSRO PAR/160/30/89)



post 1651 John Cooper (Rental, Arundel HC 126)



1678 Death of John Cooper, Thomas Cooper his brother and heir. (WSRO Add MS

49,844)



1618 Thomas Cowper (Rental. Arundel HC 125)



1695 Death of Thomas Cooper, John Cooper is son and heir. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1695 John Coopcr (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1708 John Cowper als Steyning surrenders to Ockenden Edwards. (Arundel HC 121)



1708 Licence to Ockenden Edwards to let for 5 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1714 Ockenden Edwards ((Rental, Arundel HC 21)



1736 Ockingdon Edwards (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1750 Death of Ockenden Edwards. Thomas, his youngest son, admitted. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1767 Death of Thomas Edwards. John, his only brother, admitted. (WSRO Add MS

49.844)



pre 1789 John Edwards (Quitrent. Arundcl HC 120)



1777 John Edwards conditional surrender to John Moores of Rowner Mill, miller. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1780 Thomas Moores, only son and heir of John Moores, admitted on forfeiture. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



post 1789 Thomas Moore (in occupation of Samuel Dendy). (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1795 John Nash of Rudgwiek yeoman admitted on death of Thomas Moores. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1820 John Nash dead. - Widow Sarah and Sons Joseph and Hugh admitted, (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1838 Sarah Nash dead - Sons Joseph and Hugh surrender to Emily Marshall. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1840 Tithe Map - owner George Marshall; occupier John Nash.



1847 Emily Marshall, - messuage and lands -- 40 acres. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1881 Timothy Coleman Johnson. (WSRC Add MS 18,708)



RUDGEHOUSE (in Rudgwick)

Copyhold - Yearly rent 26s. 8d,



1321 John ate Rugge holds 1 messuage and 1 virgate of land by service of 13s 10d paying on St Thomas’s Day 19d., at Lady Day 5s. 7d. and he renders at Christmas 2 hens, worth 1½d. each, and he must plough for sowing wheat or at the Lent sowing 2½ acres or he shall give to the lord 12½d., and he must sow 6 acres of meadow in the meadow of Le Lazewisse or he shall give to the lord 2s., and he must make and cock the same in the meadow with his partners (parcenar’) or he shall give 12d., and he can pasture his oxen on the lord’s pasture while he is carting. And he must do packing service at the will of the lord within the county and he shall have nothing from the lord. And if he does packing service to London or elsewhere outside the county he shall have of the lord his food and maintenance for his packhorse. And if his horse (affrus) dies by the road from too much weight he shall have from the lord 5s.; and he shall give aid and merchet. (SRS 60)



1563 William Bennet (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1574 William Bennet holds by copy a messuage and lands called Rudge and asks for licence to let. (Arundel HC 106)



1576 William Bennet licence to let. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1588 Thomas Cowper als Stcyninge admitted as a result of a case in Chancery. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1590 John s. of Thomas Stenying of Rydge. (PR)

1594 Elizabeth d. of Thomas Stenyng of Rydge. (PR)

1600 Edward s, of Thomas Steninge of Rige. (PR)

1608 Death of Thomas Steninge of Ridge. (PR)



1609 Thomas Cowper dead. Edward Cowper als Steyning, son and heir, is 9 years. Agnes, widow, to hold for free bench. Heriot a young horse price £3 10s. Ridgelands. (WSRO Add MS 49844)



1615 Ann (Agnes) Steyning died. Edward Steyning, son of Thomas, 16 years, admitted to Rudge in Rudgwick. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1618 Thomas s. of John Steninge of Ridge. (PR)

1619 Edwards. of John Steninge of Rudge. (PR)

1620 Edward s. of Thomas Steninge of Rudge. (PR)



1622 Licence granted to Edward Steyning to let for 6 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1630 Death of Elizabeth Steyning who held by free bench. Walter Steyning is next heir (youngest brother of Edward). (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1631 Walter Steyning admitted. (WSRO Add NIS 49.844)



1636 Walter Steyning surrendered since last court a messuage or tenement and lands called the Rudge in Rudgwick 40a - particularly distributed to James Cooper and Elizabeth his wife for their lives, and afterwards to John Cooper their son. Licence to James Cooper to let, (WSRO Add MS 49,844) (N. property against county boundary)



SMYTHES (now Smithers) in Rudgwick

Messuage, 2 gardens, 2 orchards, 22½ a land, 35½ a pasture & 6a meadow - description in WSRO Add MS 49,844

Tenement, garden and 7a land - later description

Copyhold -Yearly rent - 16s



1538 John Puttok and son John admitted. (Arundel HC 103)



1548 Joan Puttok. widow, licence to let. (Arundel HC 103)



1550 Joan Puttok has died. John Puttok. son of John and Joan. showed copy of court roll dated 1538. (Arundel HC 103)



1552 John Puttock cut down various oaks to the value of 26s 3d on his land called Smythes. His land was forfeit, but on payment of 26s 3d he was re-admitted. (Arundel HC 104)



1553 John Puttock. who held a messuage and land called Smithes, has died. Emery Puttock, son is under age. Isabella Puttock, widow.



1554 Emery Puttok came and received from the Lord to the use of Emery Puttok his relative son of John Puttock, a tenement with garden and land called Smythes. (Arundel HC 105)



1563 Thomas Richardson (Rental. Arundel HC 125)



1588 Cuthbert Sharpe, Ursula his wife arid Charles their son, admitted to hold for their lives. No fine in consideration of Good and faithful services. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1595 Licence to Cuthbert Sharpe to let for 5 years. (WSRC Add MS 49,844)



1605 Licence to Cuthbert Sharpe to let for 7 years.

The same court - 2 tenants offered to bring in a surrender made by Emery Puttock of a copyhold tenement called Smythes to the use of Thomas Puttock. his son and heir, but the tenants upon hearing the Kings Majesty’s Injunction read, refused to present the said surrender. And Cuthbert Shame offered one Bond of £500 wherein Emery Buttock did become bound to surrender to the use of the said Cuthbert and Cuthbert did openly require to have the surrender perfomed but there was none to perform the same. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1612 Death of Cuthbert Sharpe who held it for life. Charles Sharpe, son, admitted for life, Licence to Charles Sharpe to let for 5 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1617 licence to Charles Sharpe to let for 7 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1644 JoIm Blackall for Smithes & Millmeade. (WSRO PAR/160/30/59)



1750 John Napper has it. (Arundel HC 117)



1752 John Napper says it is held of Mr. Henshaw’s manor and pays quitrent there. (Arundel HC 117)





SNELLS (in Rudgwick)

Copyhold- - yearly rent 9s.l0d,



1547 Robert Colman, son Thomas Colman and wife Anne Colman held ley Snell. Anne Colman, widow of John(?) Colman, surrenders all interest in her land to the use of John Tydye. (Arundel HC 103)



1548 John Tydye to make a sufficient ditch at Snell. (Arundel HC 103)



1550 John Tydy licence to let cottage and land. (Arundel HC 103)



1563 John Tydye for land called the snell, rent 12s, (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1574 John Tydye holds by copy a messuage and lands called le Snell and asks for licence to let for 4 years. (Arundel HC 106)



1576 Licence granted to John Tydye to let for 4 years, 4s. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1578 Licence granted to John Tydye to let for 4 years, 4s. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1581 Licence granted to John Tydye to let for 2 years. 2s. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1587 John Tydye showed copy of Court Roll of Edward 6th time whereby he was admitted after the decease of Anne Colman, mother, (WSRC Add MS 49,844)



1590 John Tydye had surrendered out of Court to use of John Rooming and heirs, but appeared from Court Rolls that Thomas Colman who surrendered to John Tydve who only had an estate for life, Surrender refused. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1598 John Rooming admitted, Granted at request of Sir Thomas Egerton Kt. Lord Keeper of the Great Seal of England by reason of a suit depending in Chancery before the said Lord Keeper. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1599 Licence to John Rooming to let for 3 years. 6s, (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1605 Licence to Join Rooming to let for 5 years. 10s. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1609 Licence to Join Rooming to let for 5 years from 1607. 10s. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1612 Licence to John Rooming to let for 3 years. 6s, (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1615 John Rooming surrendered to use of himself and Jane his wife for their lives. remainder to his heirs. (\VSRO Add MS 49,844)



1632 Death of Jane Skyner, wife of Henry Skyner, late widow of John Rooming who held for life land called Snell cont. 30a. Richard Romyng, youngest son and heir, 12 years old. John Martyn his uncle and guardian. Licence to John Martyn to let for 8 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1644 Edward Stringer for Snell. (WSRO PAR/160/30/59)



1655 Richard Rooming surrendered barn and 40a, rent 12s, to Lord. Afterwards admitted to him and his heirs at will of Lord. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1656 Richard Rooming surrendered to use to Edmun Hone of Woking, Surrey, and heirs. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1662 Richard Rooming surrendered barn and 33a called Snells (close called Heythornefeild 7a excepted) to use of Ockenden Edwards. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



post 1651 Okinden Edwards and Francis Edwards of Snell land being a barne and 40 acres, (Rental. Arundel HC 126)



1678 Ockenden Edwards. barn and land called Snells, except 1 close called Heythornefeild in occupation of Thomas Chennell. (Arundel HC 118)



1678 Ockenden Edwards (Rental. Arundel HC 125)



1685 Death of Ockenden Edwards. Francis Edwards,his youngest brother and heir. Francis surrendered to use of Thomas Edwards jun. son of Thomas Edwards, Sen. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1695 Thomas Edwards (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1700 Thomas Edwards (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1707 Thomas Edwards dead, Grace Edwards daughter and heir, full age. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1709 Grace, widow of Thomas Edwards, surrenders to Grace. daughter, and William Pillinghurst, future son-in-law. (Arundel HC 121)



1714 Mr. William Billinghurst of Mitchinall. (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



1736 Widow Gratia Billinghurst. (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1742 Gratia Billinghurst dead.- William Billinghurst, Esq, son and heir (wife Letitia). (Arundel HC 121)



1746 Licence granted to William Billinghurst to let for not exceeding 21 years, £5 5s. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1756 William Billinghurst dead, wife Letitia predeceased. William only son and heir, 17 years. Custody to George Woodroffe. Esq. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)





1767 William Billinghurst surrendered to Francis Geary, Esq.. son of Frederick Geary of Polesden in Surrey. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1777 Death of Francis Geary. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1778 Richard Razzell (Quitrent. Arundel HC 120)



pre 1789 Francis Geary Esq. (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1784 William Gearv admitted, (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



post 1789 William Geary Esq. (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1802 Francis Turner (Quitrent. Arundel HC 120)



1803 Sir William Geary Bart, (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1804 Surrender Geary to Ellis. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1805 William Ellis Gent admitted on surrender of William Geary. (Arundel HC 120)



1806 William Ellis dead - Horace Ellis younger son admitted, (Arundel HC 120)



1806 Enfranchisement of Timber. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1807 Henry Stepney of Rudgwick millwright admitted. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1816 Henry Stepney miller surrenders Snells late Ellis formerly Sir William Geary, to John Goodyer of Sompting Gent. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1826 Death of John Goodyer, Admission of B. Change and other Trustees, surrender to George Surte? (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1829 George Surte surrender to J. Arden and R.A. Arden. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1840 Tithe Map - owner Joseph and Richard Arden; occupier James Bravery.



1847 Jospch and Richard Arden -- messuage and windmill. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1881 Joseph and Richard Arden. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



STANFORD HOUSE (The Street, Slinfold)

Land late Richard Nowers’ described as messuage & 80a in Slinfold in WSRO Add MS 49844

Freehold -- yearly rent 6d



1549 William Shelley, knight, who held free tenement and land formerly Richard Norres rent 6d, has died. John Shelley is son and heir, (Arundel HC 103)



1551 John Shelley. Esq. who held free tenement and land formerly Richard Norres rent 6d, has died. William Shelley son and heir, (Arundel HC 103)



1552 William Shelley for land called Nowers, (Arundel HC 104)



1563 William Shelley Esq for lands late Richard Nowers. (Rental,Arundel, HC 125)



1587 William Shelley. Esq. since last Court was attainted of High Treason by reason whereof the rent of all his tenements are paid to the use of the Queen and together with the free rent due to this manor, therefore petition is to be made the said Queen for the said free rent by the Lord of this manor, (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1609 Thomas Churchar. Esq. purchased a tenement and ½ a formerly Richard Nowers late William Shelley, Esq. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1612 Thomas Churchar acknowledged to hold tenement and about rod of land in Slinfold on the west part of the Street, (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1617 Death of Thos Churchar. Esq., who held freely a cottage with appurtenances in Slinfold. The Lord seized for an heriott one ox price £5, whereupon at this Court came Gee Churcher. gent, his cousin and heir, and alleged that Wm Shelley, late tenant, forfeited the same to Queen Elizabeth by attainder of High Treason and that the now Lord the King being seized thereof by such attainder granted the same to hold of himself as of his manor of East Greenwich. Therefore the said Geo Churcher desired to be advised until the next Court whether the premises were held of this manor, as they were before or not, which was granted, (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



post 1651 Mathew Turner for Mr. Thomas Churches house. (Rental, Arundel HC 126)



1678 Thomas Churcher, gent, for certain freehold land in the occupation of Stephen

Humfrey. rent 6d.

Thomas Churcher. gent, for a messuage in Slinfold Street in occupation of Matthew Turner, rent 6d, (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1695 Thomas Churcher, gent - in occupation of Matthew Turner. (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1700 Thomas Churcher (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1706 Freehold cottage, late belonging to Thomas Churcher, now the estate of Job Churcher. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1736 John Churcher (Arundel HC 121)



1750 John Churcher (Arundel HC 117)



pre 1789 The occupier of Mr. Churchar’s house in Slinfbld Street. (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1784 Job Churcher alienated a House and garden in Slinfold Street to Job Stanford. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



post 1789 John Stanford (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1802 John Stanford (Quitrent. Arundel HC 120)



1820 Sarah Stanford now owner, late her husband’s. (WSRC Add MS 18,706)



1838 Sarah Stanford dead - Ann Stanford daughter now owner. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1847 Ann Stanford -- messuage in Slinfold Street, (WSRO Add MS 18.708)



1874 Death of Ann Stanford, spinster. House auctioned - Philip Puttock of Broadbridge Heath, yeoman. purchased property for £665. He had agreed to sell property to Caroline Puttock of Slinfold, spinster and Susan Holden of Slinfold, widow. Property conveyed to them 11.12 1874: ‘All that messuage or tenement with the gardens orchard and premises situated lying and being in the Parish of Slinfold in the Country of Sussex, adjoining the turnpike Road leading through the village of Slinfold aforesaid and having a frontage thereto of 124 ft or thereabouts and containing in the whole by estimation 1 acre…’. (Abstract of title in hands of present owners, Mr. and Mrs. T. Gilmour)



1881 Ann Stanford. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)





Note 1: It appears that two properties have been conflated here. The 1678 rental indicates that there were two properties both in the hands of Thomas Churcher, one a land holding (the land late Richard Nowers). and the other a house in Slinfold Street, now Stanford House.



Note 2: William Shelley, Esq. was one of the Michelgrove Shelleys. He was involved in the Throgmorton Plot against Queen Elizabeth and was imprisoned in the Tower. Nothing could be proved against him, however, and he was eventually released around 1595, and his lands returned to him. The family came back into favour under James 1. but, because of their Catholic leanings. were out of favour in the run-up to the Civil War.





STAPLELAND alias ELLIS LAND (in Slinfold)

Copyhold-yearly rent 2s.6d.



1321 …Richard le Parkyr holds for the term of his life 1 messuage which is called le Stapele and 5 acres of land by scutage and by service of 13s. paying at the 4 principal terms. (SRS 60)



1549 George Dartnall surrendered tenement, garden and 18 a. called Staples. George, Alice his wife and Edward their son admitted. (Arundel HC 103)



1554 George Darknoll granted licence to let for7 years. (Arundel HC 105)



1563 George Darkenall for land called The Staple, copyhold, rent 9s 11d. (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1574 George Darknoll holds by copy a messuage and 18a land called Staple lande and asked for licence to let for 2 years. (Arundel HC 106)



1576 As a special favour the lord allows George Darkenoll to let (surrender) his customary messuage to whom he wishes at the feast of the Annunciation. (Arundel HC 106)



1578 Licence to let for 2 years grantcd to George Darkenoll. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



1589 George Darkenoll holds by copy to himself, Alice his wife and Edward their son, for their lives. (‘WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1612 Geroge Darkenoll and Edward Darkenoll dead. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1613 Henry Ellis admitted. Licence to let for 4 years. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)



post 1651 Edward Cooper gent, land late Henry Ellices. (Rental, Arundel HC 126)



1678 Death of Edward Cowper, Esq. who held freely a messuage and land, rent 2s 6d. Henry Cowper, son. 11 years old. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1678 Henry Cowper Esq. (Rental. Arundel HC 125)



1695 Henry Cooper Esq. (Rental Arundel HC 120)



1700 Henry Cowper Esq. (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1750 Messuage and lands called Staplelands supposed to be possessed by Mrs. Morton, formerly wife of Edward Cooper jun, In occupation of Mrs. Morton. (Arundel HC 117)



1803 Lost, (Rental. Arundel HC 120)





TAYNTLANDS (in Billingshurst High Street)
 now Ye Olde Six Bells


Freehold, 12a -- yearly rent 2s



1563 William Tredcroft (Rental. Arundel HC 125)



1574 Caterine Treycroft for Taintlande. (Arundel HC 106)



1576 Katerina Treycroft, who held for the term of her life Teintlands in Billinghurst, has died.

Robert Treycroft held to him and his heirs the above tenement. William Treycroft, 15, is son and next heir. (Arundel HC 106)



1593 Will of William Tredcroft of Billingshurst, yeoman. mentions Gylmans alias Tayntland. (SAS C666)



1593 Ann Tredcrofte daughter and heir, 9 years old. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1678 Heirs of John Tredcroft - in occupation Benjamin Streater. (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1695 Heirs of John Tredcroft - in occupation of John Tose(?). (Rental, Arundel HC 120)



1700 John Tredcroft gent. (deleted and ‘Downer’ written above). (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1750 Query whose? Philip Henshaw Esq. has such lands in occupation of Richard Brown - deleted. John Streeter purchased in 1752.



1803 Lost (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



Appears to have become part of Manor of Bassetts Fee.





TITTLESFOLD (THE HAVEN, RUDGWICK)

Messuage & 40a

Freehold -- yearly rent 4s.



1547 Thomas Ball (Arundel HC 103)



1552 Thomas Balle (Arundel HC 104)



1563 Richard Cowper (later William Cowper). (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1574 William Cowper for Title fold. (Arundel HC 106)



1618 William Cowper dead. Thomas Cowper son and heir. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1651 William Cowper dead. John his eldest son to make fealty. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



post 1651 John Cowper (Rental. Arundel HCG 126)



1678 John Cowper (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1686 John Cowper had aliened to Simon Cowper, his son arid heir. Simon is dead and settled it on son ? Cowper. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1695 Richard Nash (Rental, Arundel 120)



1714 Elizabeth West (Rental. Arundel 121)



1742 John Gilliam alienated Tittlesfold to George Naldrett. (Arundel HC 121)



1778 George Naldrctt Esq. (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



pre 1789 George Naldrett Sq. for Tidsell, (Quitrent. Arundel HC 120)



1784 George Naldrett dead, Ann Riggs seised thereof (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1802 John Pelling (Quitrent. Arundel HC 120)



1803 Ann Riggs widow (heiress to George Naldrett) dead will devised lands to James Piggott of Binderton. (Arundel HC 120)



1820 James Piggott Esq. held Tittlesfold now in occupation of Joas Pelling. James Piggott his son now owner. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1838 James Piggott Esq. dead. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1847 E. Bunny Esq. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1881 Edward Brice Bunny. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)





TOWNLANDS ALIAS PARKLAND (in Rudgwick)

freehold, 14 a - yearly rent 10d.

(Held together with Hillands, copyhold 4s.

rents sometimes transposed)



1321 Matilda ate Toune holds 1 messuage and 16 acres of land by homage, scutage and service of 6d, paying on St. Thomas’s Day 3d, and at Midsummer 3d. (SRS 60)



1548 Richard Naldret to make a ditch at Park Towneland. (Arundel HC 103)



1563 John Wylles (Rental. Arundel HC 125)



1574 John Willnot for Townelande. (Arundel HC 106)



1587 Death of John Williot. Johanne, wife of Thomas Greenfield, is daughter and heir. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1617 Johanne Greenfield sold to Thomas Greenfield. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1636 Death of Thomas Greenfield, Thomas Greenfield, son and heir, 19 years. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1644 Death of Thomas Greenfield who gave the premises to Samuel Greenfield, William Greenfield and ? Greenfield, under 21. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1644 John Stidman for Townland. (WSRO PAR 16030/59)



post 1651 Thomas Grinfeild - rent 10d.

? Grinfeild for Parkpinn - rent 9d. (Rental, Arundel HC 126)



1678 William Greenfeild of Capel. (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1685 William Greenfield sold to Mathew Napper. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1695 John Napper (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1700 John Napper for Townland alias Parkeland. (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



1743 John Napper of Greene dead - John Napper only son and heir. (Arundel HC 121)



1767 John Napper sold to Michael Harmes. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1778 Michael Harmes (Quitrent. Arundel HC 120)



post 1789 Michael Harrnes - 14 acres. (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1803 Michael Harmes (Rental. Arundel HC 120)



1820 Michael Harmes held Townlands, now in occupation of John Briggs. Mary Harmes, daughter, now owner. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1847 Mary Harmes (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1881 Mary Harmes (WSRO Add MS 18,708)


LA VIOLETTE (Violett’s Farm) in Slinfold

Copyhold - - yearly rent ?.



1321 Henry Tregoz holds 1 messuage and 40 acres of land and 7 acres of meadow which is called la Violette by rendering service to the lord in his parks of Garyng’ and Dadesham and by service of 2 bows each worth 3s. and 10 barbed arrows and 2 bolts [tribul’] paying at 2 terms of the year namely half at The Assumption and the other half at All Saints (SRS 60).



1574 Thomas Constable holds at will lands called Violetts



1611 Quit-claim, dated 1 Jun - By Richard Blount of Dedisham, co. Sussex, esq., to John Waller of Spellhurste, co. Kent, yeoman, and Richard Tichborne, citizen and skinner of London, of and in all that messuage, farm, and lands called the Violett farm in Slyndfolde, co. Sussex, and parcel of the manor of Dedisham, which premises the said Richard Blount bargained and sold to the said John Waller and Richard Tichborne by deed of 10 Jan., 5 Jas. I. Witnesses: James Smythe, John Ryxon, Gabriel Beckingham. (SAS-H/262-284, 486-803)



1611 Bond, dated 14th June - by Richard Mount to George Hobberstie, leather-seller of London in £50 for quiet enjoyment of farm called Violett farm. (SAS H/586)



1611 Lease dated 17 Nov - by William Bubberstie of London, merchant, to Robert Gates of Waddon in Croydon, miller of messuage or tenement with barns, stables. outhouse, gardens, etc. called Vyoletts in occupation of John Tare containing 70 acres. Term 21 years rent £27. (SAS –H587)



1614 Assignment dated 2nd July - by Robert Gates of Waddon in Croidon, miller, to John Naldrett of Rudgwick, yeoman, for £36 of lease dated 7.11.1611 by William Hubberstee to the said Robert Gates of Violetts in Siinfold, 70 acres, for 21 years at yearly tent of £27. (SAS H/591)



1617 Extent dated 5th Nov - and yearly value of messuages, lands etc. late of John Naldrett yeoman, decd. 8 Aug. last past which have descended to George Naldrett his brother and heir and of age of 11 years 1 month and 25 days. Including; Violetts, holden of King in chief by knight’s service, but by what part of a knight’s fee they are unaware, worth by year above reprises, 40s. Total 40s. which is wholly descended to his Majestv during the minority of the ward. (SAS H/599).





1658 Proceedings dated 26th April and 6th July - by George Naldrett re unpaid debts - mentions Violetts (SAS H649-650)


1697 Recites that George Naldrett grandfather, by his will of 28.9.1646 gave his son John Naldrett father of George Naldrett of Slynfold the said messuage, lands and premises called Violetts in tail male remainoer to the said Ralph Naldrett in tail male, reversIon to the right heirs of the said George Naldrett the grandfather. (SAS H/698)

NOTE: Violetts Farm is a Grade 2 listed building described as . L-shaped C17 or earlier timber-framed building with plaster and red brick infilling. Oversailing gable with attic window at west end. Horsham slab roof. Casement windows. Two storeys. Four windows.





WELLCROSS OR WELLS (in Itchingfield

Freehold -- yearly rent 8s or 5s.



1328 William Welle held land in Itchingfield (PRO CP 40/274, m.125d)



1513 Mistress Brygett Hussey - two tenements and a platt of grownd callyd the Well longe Acres in occupation of John Shore in value by the yere vjli. (Bodleian MS.Ch. Sussex a.4.No.309)



1557 Sir Henry Hussey died seized of lands in ltchingfield called the Welle. which he left to brother John. (SAC xli 103; SRS xiv 129)



1589 John Hussey conveyed manor of Welle to Stephen Horley. (SRS xx 471)



post 1651 Mr. Wheatley now Captain Mitchell (Rental. Arundel HC 126)



1667 A rent from the manor was held by Henry Hussey. (BL Add MS 3981 f.161)



1678 John Mitchell gent. (Rental, Arundel HC 125)



1695 John Mitchell gent. (Rental, Arundel HC 120)



1700 Wheatly Mitchell (Rental. Arundel HC 121)



1736 Louis(?) Shelly (Rental, Arundel HC 121)



1750 Death of Edward Shelley. John Shelley, about 20 years old, held same as devisee of Edward, (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1778 Widow Turner (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



pre 1789 John Sheley Esq. (Quitrent, Arundel HC 120)



1802 Henry Parkhurst (Quitrent, Arundel HC PC)



1803 John Shelley dead - Brother Bysshe Shelley Esq. heir. (Arundel HC 120)



1820 Formerly Sir Bysshe Shelley in occupation of Henry Parkhurst, now Sir Timothy Shelley. (WSRO Add MS 18,706)



1847 Sir Timothy Shelley -- lands. (WSRO Add MS 18,708)



1881 Sir Percy Florence Shelley (enfranchised). (WSRO Add N 15 18,708)







Winstrowdeswood alias Winstrelleswood (in Billingshurst)

Copyho1d - - yearly rent ?.





1621 Conveyance (bargain and sale inrolled) in consideration of £440 - dated 20 Oct. From (a) Richard Blount of Dedisham, esq., and William Blount, his son and heir apparent, to (b) Lawrence Peirs of Hastings, esq. Two messuages and 150a. land called Winstrowdeswood als Winstrelleswood als Winstrowd als Winstrells in Billingshurst, parcel of the Manor of Dedisham, in occ. of William Wakeham and Joshua Turner. (Add Mss 41,016, numbered in pencil 1052)



1646 Conveyance (feoffment) in consideration of £100. From (a) Sir Thomas Peirs of Stonepitt in Seall, co. Kent, bart., to (b) John Nye, sen., of Billingshurst, yeo., and John Nye, jun., his son Tenement, barn and 45a. land, parcel of Winstrowdeswood als Winstrelleswood in Billingshurst, parcel of the Manor of Dedisham, in occ. of John Nye, jun., and Henry Hollaway, abutting S. on lands called Pratts, W. on Hollaways als Jefferyes, E. on the highway from Billingshurst to Dorking and N. on a lane leading to Okehurst.



1673 Conveyance (lease and release, release missing), in consideration of 10s – dated 20 March - From (a) Elizabeth Hottoway of Billingshurst, widow, to (b) John Puttock of Dedisham in Slinfold, husbandman and Thomas Puttock of Slinfold, husbandman. Tenement, barn and 27a. land called Winstrowdeswood als Winstrelleswood in Billingshurst. (WSRO Add Mss 41019)







WOSES & LEVERANCE
(Woses in Rudgwick & Leverance in Billingshurst)


Copyhold -Yearly rent 30s



1554 Jolm Wynsten held on the day he died certain land called Woser in Rudgwick, rent 2s, and certain lands called Leveretts in Billingshurst, rent 20s. Thomas Wyngsten is son and heir. (Arundel HC 105)



1563 Thomas Wynson for lands called Osees and Lyverence, rent 30s. (Rental, Arundel. HC 125)



1587 Alice Winson, widow showed copy of Court Roll dated 18.7.1558; Thomas Winson, decd., the said Alice and John, their son, to hold for their lives. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1592 Death of Alice Winson. John Winson admitted according to copy above. (WSRO Add MS 49,844)



1631 Matthew Weston held freely lands and tenements called Oses als Woses and Levernetts in Billingshurst and Rudgwick, by right of 3d for all services excluding suit of Court. (WSRC Add MS 49,844)



1750 Lands called Oses als Woses and Levenances als Levenetts in Billingshurst and Rudgwick (query if a farm called Osiers). Leverance occupied by John Bridger. Osess occupied by Elisha Ede. Landlord, Mrs. Barnard. (Arundel HC 117)





OTHER PROPERTIES & MISC REFERENCES

1574 John Furlonger holds by Indenture certain lands called Marshalls



Roger Harrison holds at will lands called Rough Adames



Roger Harrison and Thomas Knight hold at will lands called Brokelandes



John Gifford, gent, holds by Indenture lands called Winstrells Wood



Same John hold by Indenture the Court of the Manor and certain demesne lands in the park.



Sibyl Puttocke, widow, holds lands by Indenture in le South parke.



William Raynolds holds in the right of his wife lands called R?arlesharn. (Arundel HC 106)







1587 Death of Ursula Tredcroft who held a parcel of land in Billingshurst which remains in the hands of the Lord. (WSRO Add MS 49.844)